Davitt’s had too much for Aggies and now face St Teresa’s in final

Antrim Junior B Hurling Championship semi-final

Michael Davitt’s 2-17  St Agnes’ 0-7

Michale Davitt’s secured a spot in the Junior B Hurling Championship final with when they had just too much scoring power for their Belfast neighbours St Agnes’ on Tuesday night at Davitt Park.

With the breeze at the backs in the opening half Davitt’s dominated from the start and scored seven unanswered points before all but sealing the game with a Cormac Maguire goal as the Aggies struggled to keep pace.

Two points apiece from Stephen McGivern and Cormac Maguire were followed by one from distance from Thomas Maguire. The procession continued up until the 14th minute as Gearoid Cosgrove and Gallagher tacked on points, but the Aggies finally broke their duck when Ronan Caroll got them off the mark with a pointed free and when Kevin Grieve added another soon afterwards they were just five in arrears.

It was to prove brief respite for the visitors however as Davitt’s came strong again with a goal from Cormac Maguire and two from Stephen McGivern to stretch their advantage into double figures.

The home team pushed on with a further succession of scores and by the time Paddy McDonnell blew the half time whistle the lead was out to 1-13 to 0-5.

The scoring dried up a little after the change of ends but once they got going again Davitt’s went further ahead and when Cormac Magurie got his team’s second goal their place in Saturday’s final was secure.

In that final Davitt’s will take on St Teresa’s at Rossa Park on Saturday at 1pm.

DAVITT’S: J McCaffrey; L McHugh, T Toland, C McHenry; C McKee, T Maguire (0-1), R McIroy; M Rowntree, J Park (0-1), S McGivern (0-6, 0-3fs), C Gallagher (0-4); C Maguire (2-0), A Rowntree, G Cosgrove (0-2).

Subs: D Maher for Cosgrove (55mins), K Brady for McHenry (57mins), C Mulligan for C Maguire (60mins).

ST AGNES’: C Fay; Sean McIlhatton, M Robb, N Gillespie; Stephen McIlhatton, D Kelly, A Mulvenna; A McQuillan, B McLarnon; C McLean, C Flannery (0-1), K Grieve (0-4, 0-4fs); R Carroll (0-2, 0-1f), M Caldwell, A O’Rourke.

Subs: J Morgan for Kelly (39mins), J Halleron for Sean McIlhatton (53mins).

REFEREE: P McDonnell (Rossa).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.