Second half goals seal it for St Paul’s

Casement Social Club Antrim Junior Hurling Championship final

St Paul’s 3-12 Rasharkin 1-8

Second half goals from Mark Munce and Colm McLarnon helped St Paul’s capture the Junior Hurling Championship title at Dunsilly on Saturday at the expense of Rasharkin. The men from the south west had defied the odds in the opening half and were level with the favourites at the break. However after the change of ends the Shaw’s Road side started to get on top, and thought the win was not sealed until midway through the final quarter it was clear to see they were getting on top.

Mark Munce scores St Paul’s second goal

Few outside Rasharkin gave the St Mary’s men much of a chance going into the game and when St Paul’s opened up an early 0-3 to 0-1 lead the game appeared to be following the script. However Rasharkin began to settle into the game and when Donach Quigg found the St Paul’s net the men from Dreen were back in business. Stephen Rooney pointed to bring St Paul’s level but McKeever edged Rasharkin back ahead at the first half water break.

When the game got going again St Paul’s hit the front again when corner-forward Caolan Crossan grabbed their first goal but it was nip and tuck for the remainder of the first half, at the end of which the teams were tied on 1-5 apiece.  

Colum McLarnon hits goal number three for St Paul’s

 An exchange of points between O’Duibhfinn of St Paul’s and McFerran of Rasharkin tied things up once again but St Paul’s were beginning to gain the upper hand and after Caolan Crossan put his team back in front with a pointed free they started to ease clear. Conal Finnegan put the winners two clear before the killer blows arrived minutes later when Mark Munce reacted quickest following a smart save from Rasharkin keeper Aidan Darragh to drill the rebound home and not long after corner forward, Colm McLarnon cut in along the endline to fire home goal number three.

From here on it was mostly one way traffic and though Rasharkin fought to the bitter end it was clearly St Paul’s day and they celebrated in style at the final whistle.

Rasharkin goal scorer Donach Quigg

ST PAUL’S: J Gillan; A Gallagher, G Carberry, S Bradley; F Gamble, F Sewell, S Lawell; C Finnegan (0-1), D Chapman; S Rooney (0-4, 0-3fs), N Ó Caireanlláin, C McLarnon (1-3); C Crossan (1-2, 0-2fs), J Farrell, C Ó Duibhfinn (0-2).

Subs: M Munce (1-0) for Chapman (40mins), S McCorry for Ó Caireanlláin (41mins), K Murray for Crossan (55mins), C O’Carroll for Finnegan (57mins), D Stevenson for Bradley (59mins).

RASHARKIN: A Darragh; L Tunney, D Doherty, C Doherty; D Hasson, C Hasson, T O’Boyle; E McFerran (0-1), T McMullan; D Quigg (1-1), A McKeever, C McKeever (0-6, 0-4fs); J Scally, D McKay, S Hasson.

Subs: C Donaghy for Tunney (37mins), F Kennedy for C Doherty (50mins), P Reilly for C Doherty (53mins), C Kennedy for T McMullan (59mins).

REFEREE: C McCloskey (Loughgiel)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.