Moneyglass v Dunloy – Previous meetings



Dunloy Cuchullains 2-11 St Ergnat’s Moneyglass 1-13

Friday September 29

Cuchullains edge to another decider

By Brendan McTaggart

At the full time whistle in Ahoghill on Friday evening, the Moneyglass players sank to their knees.  They had given everything they had and more in what was a pulsating hour of championship football.  A ding-dong battle between two evenly matches sides but in the end, the Cuchullains managed to edge past their south-west rivals by the narrowest of margins as their championship train continues to roll.  Conor McKinley was the hero for the Cuchullains, the Dunloy dual star was the coolest man on the Ahoghill pitch as he stood over a tricky free in the third minute of injury time but the ball sailed over the bar in the third minute of injury time to end the St Ergnat’s championship dreams and keep Dunloy’s aspirations for the ‘double’ alive.

Just five days have passed since the Cuchullains claimed the senior hurling crown and they made the best start possible to Friday nights semi-final.  McKinley getting on the end of a long pass to punch the ball to the back of the net, wrong footing Mark Carey in the St Ergnat’s goals with barely 30 seconds on the clock.  A goal symbolic of the Cuchullains play throughout the year and a goal that helped them settle into the game.  They came into Friday nights semi-final as underdogs against a strong Moneyglass side, despite their exploits in the championship in recent times. 


Dunloy: Frankie Cochrance; Jamie McFerran; Karl O’Kane; Kieran Hughes; Shane Dooey; Nigel Elliott; Kevin McQuillan; Keelan Molloy; Deaglan Smyth; Kevin McAllister; Gabriel McTaggart; Conal Cunning; Eoin O’Neill; Conor McKinley; Ryan Elliott

Subs: Duanne Scott for K O’Kane (HT); Conal Dooey for E O’Neill (47 mins); Chrissy McMahon for K McQuillan (inj)

Scorers: Conor McKinley 1-3 (3 frees); Kevin McAllister 1-1; Keelan Molloy 0-3 (3 frees); Conal Cunning 0-2 (2 frees); Deaglan Smyth 0-1; Conal Dooey 0-1

Moneyglass: Mark Carey; Miran Neeson; Donal Laverty; Sean Kelly; Patrick McCormick; Tiernan Duffin; Padraig Mackle; Ryan Boyd; Ryan Doyle; Seanchann Duffin; Dermot McErlain; Paul Tohill; Conail Prenter; Liam Brady; Gavin Murray

Subs: Conor Boyd for G Murray (38 mins)

Scorers: Dermot McErlain 1-4 (1 free); Seanchann Duffin 0-4 (4 frees); Liam Brady 0-3 (3 frees); Ryan Boyd 0-1; Paul Tohill 0-1

Referee: Brendan Toland (Lámh Dhearg)


Preliminary Round

St Ergnat’s, Moneyglass 2-19 Dunloy, Cuchullains 1-15

Brendan McTaggart reports from Páirc Uí Cheallaigh, Portglenone

Two goals from Conaill Prenter and a man of the match performance from Colm Duffin ensured St Ergnat’s lived up to their pre-match billing as favourites.  The Moneyglass side saw off the challenge of Dunloy with seven points to spare at the end of a hugely entertaining hour of football that would make for a statisticians dream.

12.  The number of minutes it took Moneyglass to score 2-6 in the first half in a purple patch that effectively won them the game.  The Cuchullains managed just one point in the same time.

13.  The number of minutes between Dunloy scores in the first half as Moneyglass made their way to a seven point half time lead.

9.  The magic number for Colm Duffin.  Nine shots on goal, nine white flags raised and just three frees.

3.  The number of minutes between the two majors scored by Conaill Prenter in the first half and the number of wides Moneyglass hit over the 60 minutes.  Efficient.


Moneyglass: Mark Carey; Sean Kelly, Tiarnan Duffin, Peter McCormick; jack McCoy, Conor Boyd, Eamon Kelly; Colm Duffin, Dermot McErlain; Jimmy McMeel, Paul Tohill, Patrick McCormick; Conaill Prenter, Seanchann Duffin, Gavin Murray.

Subs: Kevin Marron for S Duffin (11); Jervis Weir for C Boyd (49); Liam Brady for D McErlain (59).

Scorers: Colm Duffin 0-9 (3 f’s); Conaill Prenter 2-00; Kevin Marron 0-3; Patrick McCormick 0-2; Dermot McErlain 0-1; Sean Kelly 0-1; Jack McCoy 0-1; Conor Boyd 0-1; Paul Tohill 0-1.

Dunloy: Sean Doherty; Conor Kinsella, Karl O’Kane, Aaron Crawford; Cathaoir McGuigan, Gabriel McTaggart, Callum Scullion; Keelan Molloy, Conor McKinley; Nigel Elliott, Karl Fitzpatrick, Shane Dooey; Seán Elliott, Caolan Gillan, Conal Cunning.

Subs: Ryan McGarry for G McTaggart (19); Kevin McAllister for K Fitzpatrick (30); Jamie McFerran for C Scullion (36); Aidy Scullion for K O’Kane (43); Anthony Smith for C Gillan (60).

Scorers: Keelan Molloy 0-5; Conal Cunning 0-4 (4 f’s); Seán Elliott 1-1; Conor McKinley 0-2; Caolan Gillan 0-2 (2 f’s); Aaron Crawford 0-1

Referee: Karol Doherty (Rasharkin)


Group Stage

Moneyglass 1-13 Dunloy 2-08
Garry Duffin reports from Marian Hill

Sunday August 2

Sunday saw the meeting of the two “in form” sides in this group of the Intermediate Championship. Moneyglass had their South West rivals Dunloy visiting and it proved to be a tight affair.

The game started slow with a few wides for both sides as they tried to find openings in each other’s packed defences.

Moneyglass finally made the breakthrough after five minutes when Colm Duffin slotted over a free from 26 metres.  Dermot McErlain then won the ball from the resulting kick out and raced through to put the home side two in front and four minutes later Paddy McCormick used his pace to forge an opening and put the hosts three clear.

Twelve minutes were on the clock before Cuchullains raised a white flag through Keelan Molloy and they reduced the deficit to one almost immediately with a fine point from Seann Elliott before Conor Cunning took advantage of a Moneyglass mistake to level the game.

MONEYGLASS: Mark Carey, Peter McCormick, Tiarnan Duffin, Eamonn Kelly, Ferghal Duffin, Conor Boyd, Jervis Weir, Seanchann Duffin 0-1, Colm Duffin 0-7  (0-6 f), Paddy McCormick 0-1, Jimmy McMeel, Dermott McErlain 0-3, Jack McCoy 0-1, Conal Prenter, Sean Kelly.

SUBS – Conor O’Kane Paul Tohill 1-0 Ryan Doyle Kevin Marron 

DUNLOY – Stephen McIlroy, Conor Kinsella, Adrian Scullion, Karl O’Kane, Callum Scullion’ Oran Scullion’Kevin McQuillan 1-0, Ryan McGarry, Keelan Molloy 0-3, Seán Elliot 0-1, Ryan Mcfarane 1-0, Christopher McMahon, Conal Gunning 0-3, Anthony Smith.

SUBS: Anton McGrath, Kevin McAllister, Liam McCann, Eoghan McGrath, 0-1

Referee: Conal Roberts (St Johns)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.