Oisins retain McMullan Cup

North Antrim Under 16 Hurling – McMullan Cup

Glenariffe Oisins 2-22 Naomh Eanna 3-8

Glenariffe retained the McMullan Cup when they beat Naomh Eanna in Sunday’s final in Cushendun. In a high scoring game Glenariffe held the edge for most of the game, but Naomh Eanna were always in contention, and when they closed to within four points nearing the end of normal time they were right back in contention. However the Oisins finished strongly and in the ten minutes added time they pulled clear with two goals and three points without reply to seal the win.

Oisins substitute John V Morgan celebrates after scoring his team’s opening goal

The Oisins took an early lead with points from Niall McGarel and Ronan Rodgers, but Naomh Eanna hit back to take the lead with a goal from Ronan Eager. A McGarel point from a free brought Glenariffe level and they went back in front with two points from centre forward Odhran Gillan. Eager cut the gap back to a single point again but two more from McGarel stretched the lead to three.

Naomh Eanna got it back to two again with a point from right half forward Conor Bradley but the decisive score of the half came just before the first half water break when corner forward Orrin O’Connor got the first goal of the game.

After the restart Eagar got the first score from a Ronan Eager 65 but Glenariffe dominated the final ten minutes of the half and three pointed frees from McGarel and two from centre back Daniel Kearny helped them to a 1-12 to 1-4 lead at half time.

Naomh Eanna full forward Ryan Noble goes up for a high ball on the edge of the Oisin’s square

The gap remained around the eight point mark for most of the second half as McGarel and Eager traded scores and it appeared comfortable enough for the Oisins, but Naomh Eanna kept belief and when Malachi McGibbon fired in a goal the gap was down to just four. However the Oisins reacted well in the prolonged injury time, and boosted by a goal from substitute John V Morgan in the 61st minute, and another from McGarel a minute later, they pulled clear to secure the McMullan cup for the second year in a row.

OISINS – Phelim Ward, Eamon Ward, Mark McSparran, Niall Michael Magee, Matthew Black, Daniel Kearney, Ronan Leech, Ronan Rodgers, Cailin Devlin, Aidan McSparran, Odhran Gillan, Patrick McIlwaine, Odhran O’Connor, Nial McGarel, Brogan O’Connor.

Subs – John V Morgan, Calum McIlwaine, Cathan Graham, Seamus Monaghan, James O’Kane, John Scullion, John Black

NAOMH EANNA – Shane Grey, Joseph Ashby, Eoghan O’Hare, Conor McAlister, Malachi McGibbon, Sean Murray, Ruairi Hamilton, Colum Curran, Ciaran McAllister, Conor Bradley, Ronan Eager, Cian O’Conor, Finn Sheehy, Ryan Noble, Jacob Mackin.

SUBS – Michael McAllister, Ciaran McGinley, Corey Lyttle, Daniel O’Kane, Ronan Bradley.

Referee – Vincent Boyle (Dunloy)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.