Rasharkin honour award-winners

St Mary’s GAC, Rasharkin have honoured their 2020 award-winners, but they have had to make do without the acclaim of the traditional live audience.

The club handed over the prizes at a socially distanced outdoor presentation at Dreen, showcasing the winners via their social media account and through the local media.

Chairperson Thomas Doherty said it was important the club made time to pay tribute to the efforts of all its members under difficult circumstances.

“The 2020 season will be remembered for a very long time as the season that nearly didn’t happen,” he said.

“We began the year with much optimism across all three codes before the season was curtailed in March.

“The summer months brought championship activity back to our pitches, and coaches all worked hard to ensure the safety of our players and members of all ages.

“We could not have a formal awards ceremony this year, but as a club, we felt it was important to mark the efforts and performances of our teams, players and volunteers over the season.”

Karol Doherty receives the Dan Doherty Trophy for Clubperson of the Year.

Karol Doherty picked up the Dan Doherty Trophy for Clubperson of the Year after excelling in his many different commitments throughout the life of the club.

U14 coaches Christina Smyth, Amy McMullan and Fiona Mooney accept the McKillop Shield for Juvenile Team of the Year on behalf of the U14 camógs.

After being narrowly defeated in the county final, the U14 camogie team picked up the McKillop Shield for Juvenile Team of the Year.

Conor Hasson

Seasoned campaigner Conor Hasson received the Gerry Dalrymple Trophy for Footballer of the Year, while the energetic Colm Kennedy was awarded the Christy Hardy Trophy for the Most Improved Footballer.

Colum Kennedy

Conor McKeever’s work leading the line during the hurlers’ run to the junior championship final saw him take the Eugene Gribben Trophy for Hurler of the Year, while Fergus Quigg picked up the McMullan Cup for Most Improved Hurler.

Conor McKeever
Fergus Twigg

Aoife McFerran capped a fine season for the senior camogie team by clinching the Ciara McLaughlin Trophy for Camóg of the Year, while Niamh Mooney and Eimhéar Hardy shared the Most Improved Camóg award.

Aofie McFerran
Niamh Mooney and Eimear Hardy

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.