50 Golden Years Ago

St Mary’s were McCrory Cup champions in 1971

Fifty years ago this Sunday (March 14th) St Mary’s CBS won the MacCrory Cup for the first time when they beat Abbey CBS Newry in the final at Davitt Park Lurgan. The Glen Road school had largely been regarded as a hurling stronghold, and their brilliant record in the Mageean Cup backed that up. However they always had great fooballers at the school as well, and in 1971 they proved it when they upset the odds to the title for the first time. They would go on to win the Hogan Cup (All Ireland Schools) later in the year, and in a remarkable season for the school they also added the Mageean Cup and O’Keefe Cup in hurling. These pages covering the MacCrory Cup triumph are from a fantastic souvenir programme that the school produced for a dinner to mark the 40th anniversary of their great triump in 2011.

Page 1

Page 2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.