McCaughan goals the difference as Glenshesk edged out Rasharkin


Minor hurling B final 2009 – Glenshesk v Rasharkin

Glenshesk 2-12 Rasharkin 0-14

Glenshesk won the Minor B Hurling Championship when they beat Rasharkin by 2-12 to 0-14 in an entertaining and competitive final at Casement Park on Saturday evening.

 Two first half goals from right-half-forward Eamon McCaughan were to prove the main difference in the end, coming in the seventeenth and twenty-ninth minutes they bookended Glenshesk’s best period of the game.

 With the sides level on three points apiece McCaughan struck for his first, a score that really lifted the Glenshesk team who went on to add four points through Shane McCambridge (2), Steven McGinn and Paul McErlain in reply to just one point from Rasharkin’s Turloch Kelly.

 When McCaughan struck for his second goal just before the break to pull his team eight clear they appeared to be in cruise control, but Rasharkin responded well and late points from Diarmuid Quinn and Eamon O’Boyle cut their arrears to six at the break.

 The team’s hit three points apiece in the early stages of the second half to keep the gap at six, but when Rasharkin hit three scores through Eamon McNeill and Shane Hasson (2) they were well and truly back in the game.

 Trevor Linton and Shane McCambridge eased the pressure with well taken points for the Glens men to all but seal the win, though Rasharkin never gave up the fight and late points from Eamon O’Boyle and Daniel Doherty left just four between the sides at the end.

  GLENSHESK – John McBride, Gerard McBride, Christopher Butler, Fergal McCaughan, Michael McVeigh, Kevin Hardaker, Ciaran McErlain, James Black, Steven McGinn, Eamon McCaughan, Paul McErlain, Kieran Kane, Shane McCambridge, Brian Gormley, Trevor Linton.

 SUBS – Conor Devlin, James McCouaig, Turlough McVeigh, Francis McFetridge, Hugh O’Kane.

 RASHARKIN – James Scally, Dominic McFerran, Anthony O’Kane, Cormac Hasson, Conor McGilligan, James O’Mullan, Conor McKeever, Diarmaid Quinn, Daniel Doherty, Shane Hasson, Eamon McNeill, Eamon O’Boyle, Turloch Kelly, Conor Dunlop, Michael Glendenning.

 SUBS – Ryan Doherty, Daniel McKay, Mark McFerran, Ryan Lynch.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.