A pictorial look back at 2004

Today we take a look back through the archives at a number of South West Antrim finals in 2004. Unfortunately I don’t have reports from these games but if anyone has please send them to me and I will add it to this pictorial record.

The first final is the O’Cahan Cup final of 2004 where Moneyglass recorded a rare but memorable victory over neighbours, Erin’s Own Cargin with John Neeson the man being hoisted high by his delighted St. Ergnat’s colleagues.

The second final again features St. Ergnat’s Moneyglass, this time against St. James’ Aldergrove. I think it is a Laverty Cup final which the Crumlin side won. This final was refereed by Loughgiel’s Tommy McIntyre, a renowned hurling referee who had taken up the football whistle in the South West that year. Presenting the cup was present South West chairman, Jim McNally who has given great service to the South West over a long period.

Our third final looks like an U12 or U14 final and throws together a rare pairing with McQuillan’s Ballycastle dipping their toes in the juvenile football waters at the time and reaching a South West final where they came up against St. Patrick’s Lisburn. The |Lisburn boys came out tops in a good final at Ahoghill with Ahoghill’s Harry Graham the man in the middle and another long serving member of South West committee, Colm Walsh presenting the trophy.

The fourth final is a hurling final at Slemish Park, possibly a Feis Cup hurling final between Ruairi Ogs, Cushendall and Loughgiel Shamrock’s with the ‘Dall’ prevailing to take the trophy. Former North Antrim chairman, James McLean R.I.P. is the man presenting the trophy.

If anyone has a report of any of these finals send it to me at ptrckmclwn@yahoo.co.uk

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.