Emphatic win for Moneyglass

ACFL Division 2 Reserve

 Moneyglass 8:14    St Comghalls 0:11

St Ergnats got their season underway and hosted St Comghalls in the Reserve Football League.

The home team started with real purpose and raced into a 6 point lead with points from Tyler Cassidy (2) Ross Donnelly, Aidan McErlain, Shay Madden and Charlie McCloskey.

St. Ergnat’s were dominant as Antrim tried to find their feet and before long Moneyglass had the ball in the Antrim net thanks to a fine finish from Gary Murray.

From the resultant kick out Moneyglass won possession and threaded the ball through to the lively Charlie McCloskey who rifled to the net.

St Ergnats extended their lead to 12 points with a goal and a point from Tyler Cassidy before Colm Logue raised Antrim’s first white flag.

St Comghalls battled back with points from Rory McLarnon and Peter McAuley but St Ergnats ended the half with points from Cassidy and Conor O’Kane.

Half Time – Moneyglass 3:9  St Comghalls 0:3

St Comghalls come out of the blocks fast and had a white flag raised after a fine score from Rory McLarnon.

Moneyglass then had a soccer style goal from Aidan McErlain followed by three points from Shay Madden.

Antrim then went on a surge with three points from Rory McLarnon and one from Morgan Dennison.

St Ergnat’s upped it a gear after this and two goals from Gary Murray and Tyler Cassidy restored Moneyglass’ commanding lead.

It was time to empty the bench for the Blues and Donal Laverty made his presence felt with two goals and two points as St Comghalls ground to a halt.

Gary Murray got his hat trick just before the referee brought proceedings to a close in what turned out to be a comfortable victory for the boys in Blue.

St Comghalls

J Blair, John Brady, Stephen Webb, Paul McConville, Morgan Dennison 0-1, Patrick Cooke, Aaron Murray, Michael McCabe 0-2, Liam Wilson, Rory McLarnon 0-5, Peter McAuley 0-1, Shea McTernan, Colm Logue 0-2, Eoin Lynnot


Ryan Doyle, Frank Duffin, Callum McStocker, Ruairi Duffin, Kevin McPeake, Miran Neeson, Jervis Weir, Ciaran Kelly, Conor O’Kane 0-1, Gary Murray 3-0, Aidan McErlain 1-1, Shay Madden 0-4, Ross Donnelly 0-1, Tyler Cassidy 2-4, Charlie McCloskey 1-1, Sub Donal Laverty 2-2

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.