Loughgiel take the points…and end up in the Feis semi-final

Antrim Hurling League Division 1 – Senior Feis Cup quarter final

Loughgiel 0-21 Ballycastle -11

Loughgiel collected two more league points and booked themselves a place in the semi-final of the Feis Cup on Tuesaday evening at Fr Healy Park when they beat Ballycastle in a game that doubled as both league and Feis Cup.

Overall Loughgiel had that bit extra throughout the field and were more efficient in front of goal, while Ballycastle squandered a series of scoring chances, especially in the opening quarter.

Donal McKinley gave Loughgiel the lead in the opening minute but it was another five minutes before Ballycastle got on the scoreboard through Seamus McAuley, despite have several good chances. Loughgiel were finding the target a bit easier than the visitors and by the first half water break they were 0-6 to 0-the ahead, the pick of the scores coming from Declan Gillan from inside his own half, while Feargal McKiernan scored a great point for the Town.

The second quarter saw Lorcan Donnelly break through and score a great goal for Ballycastle to level up the score but a couple of great points from Paul Boyle and Eddie McCloskey had the Shamrocks 0-11 to 1-6 in front by half time.

Reuben McClean pointed for Ballycastle a minute into the second half to leave just a point between the sides, but Loughgiel were finding the target with a bit more ease and three from midfielder Paul Boyle and two from Rian McGarry frees helped them pull 0-17 to 1-9 clear by the second water break.

Seamus McAuley, Rueben McLean and Lorcan Donnelly kept Ballycastle in touch but a later run of scores from Eddie McCloskey, Caum McKendry and Shan McGrath saw them finish 0-21 to 1-11 in front at the final whistle.


Chrissy O’Connell, Caolan Blair, Rory McCloskey, Declan Gillan, Ciaran McKay, Seamus Dobbin, Od Laverty, Paul Boyle, Donal McKinley, Christy McGarry, Callum McKendry, Cormac McFadden, Rian McMullan, Eddie McCloskey, Shan McGrath


Ryan McGarry, Oran Kearney, Thomas McIlroy, Cormac Donnelly, Conor Boyd, Ciaran McKeague, Neal McAuley, Rian McCooke, Eamon Elliott, Ciaran Butler, KB McShane, Seamus McAuley, Tiernan Smyth, Fearghal McKiernan, Tiernan Smyth.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.