Portglenone win at Milltown

ACFL Div.1

St. Gall’s 0-14 Poretglenone 1-13

On a fine evening for football and the Milltown Row pitch in perfect condition St Galls welcomed Casements Portglenone for this division one round ten league game. The country side would go into the game as slight favourites based on their league standings and after just over an hour’s football later saw their favourites tag narrowly justified, coming out on top by a slender two point margin when the final whistle sounded.

Paddy Murrays team is going through a transitional phase and his task has not been made any easier by a plethora of injuries, and players absent due to wedding commitments so under those circumstances he will take some satisfaction from the game.

Portglenone started well with points from Aidan Mc Aleese and Michael Kelly, but to their credit the understrength hosts managed to dig in throughout and remain within touching distance at all stages.

Terry O Neill battled gamely around the middle third and showed flashes of his old self and the peerless Kevin Niblock was trying valiantly to gain a foothold in the final third, but in key areas Portglenone had just too much experience and always looked like doing just about enough to edge the contest.

With the game closely balanced Stephen Kelly struck the games only goal ten minutes into the second half. Mid-fielder, Fergal O’Kane raced through the middle and found Michael Hagan who’s pass across goal was palmed to the St. Gall’s net by ther in rushing Kelly.

The result leaves Portglenone in third place with one game left, away to Gort Na Mona, whilst St Galls have two, home to St Enda’s and away to bottom of the table Aghagallon in what may have been in other years a relegation play off.

Mickey Culbert confirmed after the game that St Galls are in a race to get over injuries to key players for the championship where the fun really starts in seven weeks. As for the winners, Portglenone will be happy to have won five out of their last six league games as they set their sights too on a championship run of their own.

Portglenone: Ryan O Neill, Jonny Convery, Shane Delargy, Ronan Delargy, Ryan Convery, Ruairi Hagan, Conor McGhee, Ciaran Lynch, Fergal O Kane, Coalan Tierney, Michael Kelly, Aidan McAleese, Michael Hagan, Stephen Kelly, Oisin Doherty.

Subs Used Corey McLaughlin, Ronan Kelly Paddy Kelly, Gerard Mc Aleese.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.