Kelly goal seals Cargin derby win…and another league title

Homefit ACFL Division One (round ten)

Erin’s Own Cargin 1-10 Kickham’s Creggan 1-08

A 47th minute goal by Mark Kelly following a David Johnston inspired approach proved the key to open the door for a Derby success as Cargin gained the verdict over near neighbours Creggan in a close encounter in Toome this evening and in doing so collected another league title.

Had Creggan prevailed then they would have moved level with their neighbours with one round of games still to come. However Cargin’s win leaves the Erin’s Own men four points clear and they cannot now be caught in the title race.

The Kickham’s took the lead in the second quarter when centre forward Paddy Cooey raised green following an impressive approach from Tiernan McAteer and after trailing by three after five minutes they had come off the pace to lead 1-06 to 0-05 at the interval.

Cargin found it difficult to break down a well organised visitors defence and when they did find a way through Ryan Mc Kiernan was denied by the wood work early in the second half but Mark Kelly’s finish from close range in the last quarter proved the vital score.

Games between close rivals and near neighbours Cargin and Creggan have always proved close hard fought affairs and tonight’s was no different.The home side led the race for the first division and started as favourites and they were quickly out of the start traps.

Kevin Mc Shane opened their account as he raced through the middle to raise white in the opening minute directly from the throw in and Jamie Gribbin added a second a couple of minutes later.

Erin’s Own were dominant in the opening minutes and added a fine Benen Kelly point from the ‘45’ after Leon Bonnes did well to parry a Jamie Gribbin strike over the bye line and they looked in charge.

Creggan, took a while to settle but opened their account when Matthew Rogers split the posts and before they were reduced in number for a while when bustling full forward Tiernan Burke was shown black but this didn’t knock them out of their stride.

Paddy Cooey added a second score sending a 30 metre free between the posts and when Matthew Rogers and Jamie McCann followed suit the visitors had nipped ahead.

A Jamie Gribbin 16th minute point saw the home side draw level again but Creggan responded and Tiernan Mc Ateer placed Paddy Cooey who found the net. A poor clearance was then punished when Tiernan Burke, just back from his time in the sin bin added a point.

The home side grabbed the last score of the half when a heavy challenge on Paudie Mc Loughlin was punished when Jamie Gribbin sent the resultant award between the posts but the visitors led 1-05 to 0-06 at the interval.

Cargin began the second half on the offensive and were unlucky not to score in the early minutes as Ryan Mc Kiernan’s punched effort came back off the cross bar.

Creggan responded as full forward Tiernan Burke claimed the mark and duly delivered over the crossbar.

The home side battled to get going but several well laid approaches came to nothing before a foul on Benen Kelly saw the youngster point the resulting free from 50 metres with the visitors making quick reply at the other end as Tiernan Mc Ateer delivered between the posts.

Jamie Gribbin hit back with a point at the other end but the Kickham’s held advantage, 1-07 to 0-08 at the second water break.

There was still all to play for going into the final quarter and the decisive score arrived when a smart approach involving David Johnston, Michael Clarke and Ryan Mc Kiernan saw Mark Kelly finish to the net to claim advantage for the Cargin men at 1-09 to 1-07.

Creggan were quick to reply as Paddy Cooey raised a 56th minute white from a 30 metre free but this was cancelled out by replacement Pat Shivers who fired over from an acute angle posts to ensure his side crossed the line 1-10 to 1-08 ahead.

Cargin: Shay Bovill, Sean Og Quinn, Kevin O’ Boyle, Paudie Mc Laughlin, Gerard Mc Corley, Sean Og O’ Neill, Kevin Mc Shane (0-01, John Carron, Benen Kelly (0-02), David Johnston, Mark Kelly, PJ Quinn, Ryan Mc Kiernan (1-00), Jamie Gribbin (0-06)


Gerard Mc Cann for S Og Quinn (inj)

Michael Clarke for R Gribbin

Pat Shivers (0-01) for PJ Quinn

Paul Mc Cann for R Mc Kiernan

Creggan: Leon Bonnes, E Carey Small, Eunan Mc Ateer, Aiden Maguire, Sam Maguire, Jamie Mc Cann (0-01), Killian Burke, Terry Mc Cann, Aiden Mc Keown, Oran Mc Larnon, Paddy Cooey (1-02), Tiernan Mc Ateer (0-01), Matthew Rogers (0-03), Tiernan Burke (0-02), Fintan Burke


Jake Mc Ateer for K Burke

Mark Dougan for T Burke

Leigh Johnston for F Burke

David Mc Guckin for M Rogers

Referee B Toland (Lamh Dhearg)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.