St Gall’s ease to victory over Naomh Éanna

Homefit ACFL Division One 

St Galls 2-16 – 0-13 Naomh Éanna 

Kevin Herron reports from Milltown 

Two goals inside the first quarter of the second half saw St Galls wrap up a 2-16-0-13 victory over Naomh Éanna at Milltown on Sunday afternoon. 

Already ahead 0-12-0-07 at the break, goals from Conn Doherty and talisman Barra McCaffrey saw the hosts run out with 9-points to spare in the end. 

Barra McCaffrey swung over an early point within the first 15-seconds and the hosts lead was doubled with Conn Doherty slicing over.

Naomh Éanna were off the mark when Fionn Nagle slipped the ball into the path of Ronan O’Neill who split the posts and Nagle converted a free shortly after to restore parity.

St Galls hit the front again after a fine interchange between McCaffrey and Niall O’Neill with McCaffrey hoisting the ball over, but Nagle converted a free after the other end after a foul on Kristian Healy.

Naomh Éanna edged ahead for the first time when Eoin Nagle had his run halted, though sensing a score still on Nagle tried his luck and was successful to make it 0-04-0-03.

It was St Galls turn to draw level through Aodhan Gallagher and the hosts took control once again with three further scores in succession.

Terry O’Neill picked out McCaffrey- who claimed an advanced mark, but instead opted to advance and pointed from a tight angle for his third of the afternoon.

O’Neill himself claimed the next score from Kevin Niblock’s interchange and Brendan Bradley converted a free to give the hosts a 0-07-0-04 lead at the first half water break.

Ciaran Thompson shields the ball from Terry O’Neill

Naomh Éanna closed the deficit upon the restart with Kristian Healy running at the St Galls defence and confidently popping it between the posts.

John McCaffrey replied at the other end with a shot that squeezed inside the posts before Barra McCaffrey picked off an excellent score from range for his fourth of the half.

St Galls moved five to the good after Brendan Bradley swung over for his first from play with Cormac Scott replicating it at the other end.

Eoin Nagle then closed the gap to three points before the break, but St Galls points from Aodhan Gallagher and Niall O’Neill had the hosts 0-12-0-07 ahead at the break.

Naomh Éanna opened the second half scoring through a Ruairi Scott free- but St Galls moved further ahead with the first goal of the game. Barra McCaffrey offloaded the ball to Conn Doherty whose shot dropped over Paddy Flood and into the net to make it 1-12-0-08. 

Fionn Nagle and John McCaffrey traded points, however St Galls found their second goal on 42 minutes as Barra McCaffrey shot low to the net to give his side a 2-13-0-09 lead. 

Barra McCaffrey slots home St Galls second of the afternoon

By this stage Naomh Éanna needed a goal if they were to stand a chance of staying in contention, the next score was a point however – courtesy of Adam Lamb. 

Ruairi Scott then converted his second free of the half after the water break, though Conor Stinton saw his deflected shot squeeze over the bar. 

Further scores were traded as Terry O’Neill produced an excellent score with Fionn Nagle conjuring up his fourth point of the afternoon in reply. 

A final Barra McCaffrey point from a converted free would ensure the youngster finished on 1-05 for the day and at the other end the scoring was complete when Cormac Scott was felled, and Ruairi Scott converted the resulting free as St Galls ran out 2-16-0-13 winners at the conclusion. 

St Gall’s: N McCurdy, J Hopkins, S O’Hagan, C McGirr, J McCaffrey (0-02), T O’Ciarnain, C Stinton (0-01), N O’Neill (0-01), A Gallagher (0-02), C Doherty (1-01), T O’Neill (0-02), B Bradley (0-02, 0-01f), B McCaffrey (1-05, 0-01f) , K Niblock, M Donnelly. Subs: C O’Kane for T O’Ciarnain (45), M Cummings for A Gallagher (50), C Murray for J Hopkins (50), D Delaney for C Doherty (52), E McCurdy for B Bradley (55). 

Naomh Éanna: P Flood, R O’Neill (0-01), F Eastwood, N Heatley, M McNamee, E Nagle (0-02), C Thompson, R Scott (0-03f), M Morgan, R Kalla, G Crossey, C Morgan, C Scott (0-01), K Healy (0-01), F Nagle (0-04, 0-02f). Subs: A Lamb (0-01) for C Morgan (41), S McBride for G Crossey (41), D McNulty for N Heatley (45), R McCluskey for F Nagle (53), C McGlade for E Nagle (53). 

Referee: Paul Burns (St Comgall’s

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.