McCann penalty sends Cargin on their way to victory

Homefit ACFL Division 1

Erin’s Own Cargin 2-17 St Enda’s Glengormley 0-09

A 22nd minute Thomas McCann penalty goal proved the platform to success as Cargin claimed victory over St Enda’s on Wednesday evening.

The Glengormley men gave as good as they got in the opening half but the home side nipped smartly out of the start traps and early points from Ryan McKiernan and Tomas McCann put them two ahead.

The home side moved 0-04 to 0-02 ahead at the first water break and then a foul on Paul McCann opened the way for Tomas Mc Cann to slot the ensuing penalty confidently home.

This score gave the Toome men a 1-06 to 0-03 advantage and they looked on their way to victory.

The visitors, with Antrim captain Peter Healey leading by example, came back strongly in the closing stages and late points by the lively Fionn Nagle and Seamus Morgan ensured only a single score separated the sides at the short whistle.

St Enda’s opened the second half with an early Eoin Nagle point but Cargin replied and Mark Kelly raced up the left hand side to fire between the posts.

This score seemed to lift the Cargin side and in a devastating third quarter they added six more points to lead 1-13 to 0-07 at the end of the third quarter and it was as good as over.

St Enda’s kept going in the latter stages but any hope for the Glengormley men was finally dashed when James Laverty and Jamie Gribbin combined to place Ryan McKiernan who punched to the back of the net.

Antrim Chairman Ciaran Mc Cavanagh was on hand to present the Eddie Fitzsimmons Memorial trophy to Kevin O’ Boyle at conclusion with the Cargin captain paying tribute to the extended panel of players used during the season.

Cargin: Shay Bovill, Kevin O’ Boyle, Justin Crozier, Gerard Mc Corley, John Carron, James Laverty (0-01), Michael Clarke, Kevin Mc Shane, Gerard Mc Cann, Paul Mc Cann (0-01), David Johnston (0-01), Mark Kelly (0-01), Tomas Mc Cann (1-08), Ryan Mc Kiernan (1-01), Jamie Gribbin (0-02)


Peadar Mc Keever (0-01) for P Mc Cann

Brian Og Devlin for J Carron

Odhran Molloy for M Kelly

St Enda’s: Paddy Flood, Diarmuid Mc Nulty, Pat Hamilton, Peter Healey, Michael Mc Namee, Eoin Nagle (0-01), Ciaran Thompson, Ruairi Scott, Michael Morgan (0-01), Ronan O’ Neill, Gerard Crossey, Cormac Morgan (0-02), Kristen Healey (0-01), Fionn Nagle (0-04)


Fiontan O’ Connor for P Healey

Colm Mc Cabe for C Scott

 Referee: Danny O’ Neill (Gort na Mona)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.