Ardoyne look strong contenders for Junior B Title

Junior B Hurling Championship Group 1

St. Brigid’s 1-10 Ardoyne 4-15

Pics: Bert Trowlen

Ardoyne proved too strong for St. Brigid’s in this Junior B Hurling championship Group 1 encounter on Sunday and on this form they will be one of the favourites to lift the title. The Kickham’s led 2-6 to 1-4 at the half way stage and at this stage the Musgrave park side still looked in with a shout.

After the break the visitors stepped it up another gear and pulled away to win convincingly. Goals from Oisin McVicker in the 5th minute and another from Hugh Grieve with ten minutes on the clock gave them early control of the game but St. Brigid’s got in for a goal of their own from Oliver Lennon after 22 minutes to give them some hope for the second half.

It was nip and tuck for a time during the second half with Phelim Lennon leading the charge for St. Brigid’s with three points in the opening quarter and Fearghal Leyden getting another and Jim Og McAuley, Aran Stewart and Peter McShane on target for the North Belfast side but a couple of quick goals after the water break put Ardoyne in complete control.

They finished strongly with Daniel Moore hitting 0-3 with Oisin McDonald, Phelim Lennon and Fearghal Leyden getting consolation points for the home side and it is Ardoyne who now go through to the semi-final along with All Saints and tomorrow night’s meeting with the Ballymena men at the Crickey merely decides who will finish first and second in Group 1.

St. Brigid’s 1 Damien McLarnon 2. Tom McCarney 3. Peter Heaney 4. Chris Quinn  5. Gerard Henvey 6. Joe McCarney 7. Ruben Carlton 8. Fearghal Leyden 9. Rory Flanaghan 10. Chris Lundy 11. Phelim Lennon 12. Oisin McDonald 13. Conor McAlister 14. Paul McCrudden 15. Oliver Lennon 17. Tony McEwan

Ardoyne: 1) John Paul Agnew, 2) Sean McGearty, 3) Paul Baker, 4) Aran Stewart, 5) Pascal Clarke, 6) Kealan McCallan, 7) Maher McShane, 8) Pearse Hull, 9) Paul McGuigan, 10) Daniel Moore, 11) Oisin McVicker, 12) Martin McLaughlin, 13) Enda Slattery, 14) Jim Og McAuley, 15) Hugh Grieve,

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.