Smith hat-trick helps Cuchullains to comfortable win

Reserve Football Shield Group 2

Moneyglass 4-7 Dunloy 5-16

Friday July 23

Brendan McTaggart reports from Marian Hill, Moneyglass

Dunloy’s bid to retain the Reserve Shield started in emphatic fashion on Friday evening as they eased past the challenge of a beleaguered Moneyglass side.  The St Ergnat’s men could only field with 14 players due to a wedding involving a prominent club member so they were thin on the ground but they still produced an entertaining hour of football.

The Cuchullains were too strong and had built an unassailable lead by the half time whistle.  15 points separated the sides and Dunloy used the second half to experiment and while Moneyglass battled hard, they never looked like they would get back into the contest.

Anthony Smith finished the game with a hat-trick, two of his majors coming early in the second half as the young Dunloy forward marked his return to action after a 10 week injury lay off.  Daithi McGuigan and Oisin Elliott chipping in with the other Dunloy goals, both in the first half.

Kevin McAllister was as lively as ever for the Cuchullains with 0-6 (2f) beside his name while dropping deep and using his experience while Karl Fitzpatrick, Cathair McGuigan and Anthony Doran also played pivotal rolls for the Cuchullains.

Conor Neeson scored two goals for the home side, one in each half.  His second a superbly executed penalty in the 55th minute.  Conor O’Kane finished with 1-3 (1f) while Ciaran Kelly scored the fourth Moneyglass goal in the 43rd minute.

Luke O’Donnell was the home sides best performer on the evening with Tyler Cassidy, Frank Duffin and James McCormick also having strong performances but this was always going to be a big ask for the St Ergnat’s men given the numerical advantage.

Dunloy welcome neighbours Rasharkin to Pearse Park in the next round of the group stage while Moneyglass make the journey to the tenth glen on the same evening as they take on Glenravel.


Moneyglass: Aidan McErlain; Ruairi Duffin, Declan Neeson, James McCormick; Shay Madden, Luke O’Donnell, Frank Duffin; Ciaran Kelly, Gary Murray; Connor O’Kane, Tyler Cassidy, Rory Gribbon; Ross Donnelly, Enda Duffin, Conor Neeson.

Scorers: Connor O’Kane 1-3 (1f); Conor Neeson 2-00 (1-00 pen); Tyler Cassidy 0-3 (1f); Ciaran Kelly 1-00; Rory Gribbon 0-1

Dunloy: Conor McGilligan; Cahir McCloskey, Oran Corrigan, Oisin McErlane; Sean Og McErlean, Callum Scullion, Cathaoir McGuigan; Peter McQuillan, Karl Fitzpatrick; Daithi McGuigan, Anthony Doran, Oisin Elliott; Kevin McAllister, Anthony Smith, Frankie Cochrane.

Scorers: Anthony Smith 3-00; Kevin McAllister 0-6 (2f); Oisin Elliott 1-2; Daithi McGuigan 1-1; Frankie Cochrane 0-2; Anthony Doran 0-2; Karl Fitzpatrick 0-2; Peter McQuillan 0-1

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.