Dominant second half performance sees Rasharkin through

Photographs: Mark Hasson

Casement SC JHC Group 1

Rasharkin 2-18 Davitts 1-11

St. Mary’s Rasharkin staged a strong second half come-back to overcome the challenge of a good Davitt’s side in this opening game of the Casement SC Junior Hurling championship at Dreen last night.

The opening exchanges were fairly even as Conor McKeever pointed Rasharkin into the lead from a free in the 4th minute with Don Whelan replying for the visitors from a 9th minute free to level the contest.

Donagh Quigg for the Dreen side and Stephen McGivern for the visitors exchanged further points and as the end to end play continued Conor McFerran for Rasharkin and Colm McKee for Davitt’s added further minors to leave it 0-3 to 0-3 after 16 minutes.

Marcas Toner edged the visitors ahead for the first time with a point in the 18th minute but Rasharkin replied through Donagh Quigg and Conor McKeever to get their noses in front once more.

Things were certainly hearting up with referee Francis Traynor issuing a couple of yellow cards before Conor McKeever extended the Rasharkin lead to two with a point in the 22nd minute but it was visitors Davitt’s who finished the half strongly to lead at the break.

Don Whelan pointed for the visitors and Peter Carleton finished to the net in the 26th minute with Stephen McGivern and Marcas Toner adding points to leave the city side leading 1-8 to 0-6 at the break and good value for their lead.

If Rasharkin were to turn this one around then they needed a good start to the second half and with James Scally, Thomas McMullan and Kealan Darragh now in the action they set about reeling in the opposition.

Conor McKeever opened with an early point. Donagh Quigg fired to the Davitt’s net in the 3d minute and James Scally added another point in the 6th and further scores from Conor McKeever, Conor McFerran and the impressive McKeever again closed the gap to one by the 15th minute as St. Mary’s totally dominated the exchanges.

Marcas Toner briefly halted the onslaught with Davitt’s first point of the half in the 16th minute but Conor McKeever and Conor McFerran came back immediately with points for the home side.

Marcas Toner replied again for a Davitt’s side who were now struggling to contain the opposition but when Conor McFerran fired home St. Mary’s second goal in the 21st minute it was as good as over.

The traffic was very much heading in the direction of the visitor’s goal at this stage and Thomas McMullan, Tiernan O’Boyle, Conor McKeever 0-2, Conor and McMullan again hit unanswered points to see St. Mary’s run out convincing 10 point winners.

A great start by the Dreen side who travel to Ballymena on Saturday to take on All Saints in round 2 and they will again start as favourites in that one while Davitt’s have an opportunity to put this defeat behind them when they host Lamh Dhearg at Davitt’s Park.

Rasharkin Team:1 – Aidan Darragh,2 – Conor Doherty,3 – Aidan McKeever,4 – Liam Tunney,5 – Connair Donaghy,6 – Shane Hasson,7 – Daniel Hasson,8 – Declan McKay,9 – Emmet McFerran,10 – Tiernan O’Boyle,11 – Fearghal Kennedy,12 – Ruairi O’Boyle,13 – Conor McFerran,14 – Donagh Quigg,15 – Conor McKeever. Subs: James Scally for Fearghall Kennedy, Thomas McMullan for Liam Tunney, Kealan Darragh for Ruairi O’Boyle, Colm Kennedy for Emmet McFerran

Davitt’s: 1 Jo McCaffrey, 2 Ruairi McIlroy, 3 Thomas Toland, 4 Anton McLaughlin, 5 Jason Park, 6 Thomas Maguire, 7 Colm McKee, 8 Peter Carleton, 9 Don Whelan, 10 Marcas Toner, 11 Stephen McGivern, 12 Canice Mooney, 13 Conor John Sullivan, 14 Anthony Rowntree, 15 Kevin Brady. Subs:Alan Rainey, Oskar Deevy Persson.

Referee: Francis Traynor (Loughgiel)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.