McFerran the hero as Rasharkin make it two from two

Photographs: Mark Hasson

Casement SC JHC Group 1

All Saints 2-16  Rasharkin 3-24

St. Mary’s Rasharkin made it two wins from two starts in Group 1 of the Casement SC Junior Hurling championship when they defeated All Saints, Ballymena at Slemish Park today. Seven points separated the division 3 side from their division 4 opponents in the end but the Ballymena management will be pleased at some aspects of their side’s performance if not the final result.

Conor McFerran got the visitors off the mark with a point in the 1st minute but All Saints replied through Ciaran Neeson and Luke O’Rawe to take the lead with five minutes gone. Conor McKeever and Conor McFerran edged St. Mary’s ahead once more but points from Colm and Ciaran Neeson saw All Saints hit the front once more by the 13th minute.

The Slemish Park side were giving as good as they got at this stage but Rasharkin began to settle, hitting three unanswered points through Conor McKeever 0-2 and Donagh Quigg before the excellent Ciaran Neeson replied from a free in the 17th minute to keep his side very much in touch.

Conor McFerran was proving a handful for the All Saints defence and he struck with the game’s opening goal in the  in the 19th minute and followed with a point to put a bit of daylight between the sides.

Neeson was keeping the All Saints score card moving pretty much on his own at this stage as he replied from another free but Conor McFerran’s influence on the game was increasing by the minute and he struck with a second goal and two points in a three minute spell with Conor McFerran adding another to put the visitors in control.

All Saints were battling hard to get back into contention with Ciaran Neeson bringing his first half total to 0-6 and Colm Neeson adding another but a late McKeever point gave St. Mary’s a fairly comfortable looking eight point lead as the half time whistle sounded.

Half Time Score:

Rasharkin 2-13

All Saints 0-11

If All Saints were to get themselves back into the game then a good start to the second half was important but it was visitors Rasharkin who came racing out of the starting traps and Conor McFerran fired to the net for their third goal with only a minute gone to move them 11 in front and it looked a long way back for the home side.

They increased that lead to 14 by the fourth minute through Tiernan O’Boyle, Donagh Quigg and Conor McKeever before Ciaran Neeson finally opened the home side’s second half account from a free in the 6th minute.

The visitors rang the changes at this point and for the first time in the half All Saints began to enjoy a wee bit of success with Ciaran Neeson 0-2, and Colm Neeson replying with points and Damian Gillan getting in for a goal in the 26th minute to give his side a glimmer of hope.

That hope was quickly extinguished however as Rasharkin made a decisive response to finish strongly, hitting the final five points of the game without reply through the superb McKeever 0-4, and Tiernan O’Boyle to run out convincing winners in the end.

This win ensures Rasharkin a place in the play-offs while Lamh Dhearg, who have three points from 2 starts are favourites to join them but Davitt’s are not out of the running and a win in their final game against All Saints would put them in with a shout.

All Saints: Ciaran Cassley, Brendan McDonnell, Chris McAffee, Kevin Brady, Padraig Magill, Luke O’Rawe, Colm Neeson, Vincent Esler, Gary Miskella, Cormac Magill, Damian Gillan, Ciaran Neeson, Daire Hasson, Eoghan Daly, Jack Magill.

 Rasharkin : 1 – Liam Tunney, 2 – Conor Doherty, 3 – Aidan McKeever, 4 – Daniel Doherty, 5 – James Scally, 6 – Shane Hasson, 7 – Daniel Hasson, 8 – Emmet McFerran, 9 – Declan McKay, 10 – Tiernan O’Boyle, 11 – Fearghal Kennedy, 12 – Ruairi O’Boyle, 13 – Conor McFerran, 14 – Donagh Quigg, 15 – Conor McKeever


09mins 2nd half substitution Rasharkin 🔵🟡–> off: Declan McKay  on: Thomas McMullan

10mins 2nd half substitution Rasharkin 🔵🟡–> off: Conor McFerran  on: Colm Kennedy

11mins 2nd half substitution Rasharkin 🔵🟡–> off: Fearghal Kennedy  on: Owen Kennedy

21mins 2nd half substitution Rasharkin 🔵🟡–> off: Ruairi OBoyle  on: Shane Doherty

Referee: Francis Traynor (Loughgiel)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.