Magic McNeill hits 0-11 in win over St Paul’s

Andersonstown Intermediate Hurling Championship

Cushendun 0-22 St Paul’s 0-11

Cushendun made it two wins out of two in Group 2 of the Intermediate Hurling Championship when they beat St Paul’s by double scores at CushLig an Airgid on Sunday. The Belfast side had beaten hot favourites Cushendun in last year’s Junior Hurling Championship semi-final on their way to winning the title, so there was an air of caution among the Emmet’s this time around.

A good start helped settle the early nerves and with Conlaoth ‘Loaf’ McNeill controling matters from the half forward line, and the defence domininating their area, the home team went 0-7 to 0-1 ahead after fourteen minutes, five of them coming from McNeill and two from David Kilgore. James Farrelly pulled a point back for St Paul’s on 16 minutes but McNeill restored the six point cushion with a point directly from a sideline ‘cut’, one of three he was to score during the game. Caolan Crossan, Gerard Carbery, Declan Chapman and Coneith Finnegan all pointed for St Paul’s before half time, but David Kilgore, Conrad McDonnell, Dominic McQuillan and McNeill again replied for the Emmet’s to leave them five ahead at the half time whistle (Cushendun 0-12 St Paul’s 0-7)

When Anton Gallagher and James Farrell hit the first two points of the second half for the visitors the gap was down to just three and it was clear the Shaw’s Road men were in no mood to throw in the towel, but Cushendun reacted well as they hit five points in a row, two of them from substitute Pearse Bannon, and one each from Conor McHugh, Conrad McDonnell and Loaf, who sent over his second sideline cut. Gerard Carbery replied with one for St Paul’s on 43 minutes but three more from the stick of Loaf McNeill and one from Dominic McQuillan wrapped up the win for the Emmet’s.


Gareth McGhee, Eoin McQuillan, Aidan Corbett, Jack McKay, tom Scally, Donal O’Hara, Mickey Dunne, Conor McHugh, Calum Kilgore, Conrad McDonnell, Harry Kilgore, Conlaoth McNeill, Conleth Ryan, James Morgan, David Kilgore.

Subs – Dom for David; Pearse Bannon for James Morgan, Dominic Sharkey for Loaf; Archie McSparran for Aidan Corbett.


Joe Gillan, Ciaran O’Carroll, Fintan Gamble, Sean Bradley, Darragh Stevenson, Stephen Rooney, Andy McMorrow, Conleth Finnegan, Mark Munice, Anton Gallagher, Frank Seneill, Caolan Crossan, Declan Chapman, Gerard Carbery, James Farrell

Referee – Colm McDonnell

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.