Late Hanna goal sends Aldergrove through

Senior Reserve ‘Shield’ Semi Final

St James Aldergrove 1-20 Con Magees Glenravel 3-12

A goal in the 61st minute by late replacement Fearghal Hanna ensured a place in the Senior Reserves Shield final for St James Aldergrove at the expense of Glenravel following an enthralling semi-final encounter at Dunsilly on Wednesday evening.

The Glensmen had nipped ahead via a 59th minute point from replacement Shanlee Kerr but the Crumlin men responded through Luke Sinclair and when Fearghal Hanna was sent clear by a Conor Morris cross to find the net the die was cast and a place in the decider earned.

Aldergrove made the early running as the semi-final got under way and were unlucky to see Glen Dunham’s opening opportunity denied by the woodwork but back to back point s from Conor Morris and Oisin Graham gave them an early advantage.

Glenravel opened their account in the 6th minute when a route one delivery to Martin McCarry paid dividends and saw them raise their first white flag.

The former county star certainly made his mark on the edge of the square but the Glensmen trailed the Crumlin side with the impressive Oisin Graham prominent at midfield to trail 0-06 to 0-04 at the first water break.

Glenravel responded on the restart and a lofted delivery to McCarry paid dividends and his knock down opened the way for Aidan McCafferty to find the net to put Glenravel 1-04 to 0-06 ahead.

It was end to end stuff and Martin McCarry pointed in the 30th minute to ensure parity at 1-07 to 0-10. Back to back points by Conor Morris opened a two point gap with McCarry replying again for the Con Magee’s as another lofted Ryan Mc Quillan delivery opened the door for the full forward. Aldergrove were quickly into their stride in the second half as wing half back Chris Browning pointed but Glenravel responded positively and Ryan Mc Quillan added a smart point in the 36th minute and he then combined with Charlie Henry and Ronan Higgins before firing to the back of the net and Glenravel had moved 2-09 to 0-13 ahead.

Aldergrove rung the changes at this point with Fearghal Hanna, Luke Sinclair and Aaron O’ Connor introduced and in the event those replacements were to make a telling impact on the final outcome.

Ryan Mc Carthy and Declan Gough added points apiece to bring the sides level at 2-09 to 0-15 but Glenravel were using the first time delivery to good affect and once again McGarry won possession before sending Ryan McQuillan through to grab his side’s third goal.

Con Magees looked to be taking charge but Aldergrove were quick to respond as they added the next three points to draw level once more with Luke Sinclair 0-2 and another from Fearghal Mc Donagh making it 0-18 to 3-09 as the clock ticked down.

The latter stages proved dramatic in the extreme and a pointed free by Conor Morris saw Aldergrove nip ahead but a Ryan McQuillan reply at the other end was followed by another from replacement Shanlee Kerr for the Glensmen and a place in the decider looked close.

Back came the Crumlin side and an injury time Fearghal Hanna goal proved decisive although the last point of the game fell to Glenravel’s  Conleth O’Loan, but his 63rd minute strike was not enough and it was St. James’ Aldergrove who advance to a final meeting with neighbours, St. Joseph’s Glenavy.

Aldergrove: Oisin Mc Garry, Conor Totten (0-02), Michael Mc Carthy, David Aiken, Chris Browning (0-01), Odhran Creaney, Declan Gough (0-02), Danny Bell, Oisin Graham (0-01), Conleth O’ Toole, Conor Morris (0-05)), Michael Smart, Glen Dunham (0-01), Ryan Mc Carthy (0-01), Sean Fay(0-03)


Fionn Mc Donagh (1-01) for D Bell

Fearghal Hanna for D Gough

Aaron O’ Connor for S Fay

Luke Sinclair (0-03) for O Creaney

Glenravel: Jude Scullion, Chris Laverty, Sean Mc Cusker, Jonathan Fyffe, Joseph Martin, Declan Black, Charlie Henry, Daniel Mc Quillan (0-01), Ronan Higgins (0-01), Declan Diamond (0-01), Aidan Mc Kenna, Ryan Mc Quillan (2-03), Sean Paul Mc Kenna, Martin Mc Carry (0-03), Aiden Mc Caffrey (1-01)

25 (0-01)

23 (0-01)


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.