Gaels through to semi-final

Andersonstown SC IHC Group 1

Cloney Gaels 1-26 St. Gall’s 3-17

Photographs: Bert Trowlen

Cloney Gaels are through to the Andersonstown SC IHC semi-final following a three point win over visitors St. Gall’s in Cloney tonight. The visitors needed a win to have any chance of qualifying for the semi-finals and during the opening half they matched the Ahoghill side score for score.

Indeed they led by 2-3 to 1-5 after 12 minutes with their goals coming from Mark Napier and Tomas O’Ciarain and the Cloney goal scored by James O’Connell. O’Connell led the Cloney scoring charge during the opening half contributing seven points to add to his goal with the other points coming from Tomas McGlone, Ronan Graham 0-2, Donal Graham, Owen Neeson and Dan O’Neill.

The visitors matched them score for score for most of the opening half with Jackson McGreevey leading the way with 0-6 and Tomas O’Ciarain and Mark Napier getting their other two points to leave them trailing by two at half time and it looked anybody’s game at this stage.

The Milltown men made a fast start to the second half with points from Marcus Donnelly, Tomas O’Ciarain, Jackson McGreevey and Patrick Friel in the opening three minutes but the Gaels came back strongly with points of their own through James O’Connell 0-2, Ronan Graham and Owen Neeson to restore their two point lead by the 5th minute.

The visitors cause certainly wasn’t helped when they had O’Ciaran sent off in the 10th minute but they continued to make life difficult for the eventual winners. Mark Napier added another for St. Gall’s to close the gap to one but Cloney Gaels replied through James O’Connell 0-2, Frankie Neeson, Tomas McGlone and O’Connell again to stretch their lead to six by the 13th minute.

Two more St. Gall’s points from the excellent Jackson McGreevey were cancelled out by points from the equally impressive James O’Connell and Ronan Graham as the home side continued to hold the upper hand with Bernard Graham doing sterling work as the extra man.

The visitors battled manfully until the end with Jackson McGreevey leading by example and adding a further 0-3 to his total and Antoin McCaffery getting their final point but the Ahoghill side were always able to find a response and points from James O’Connell, Boris O’Connell, Tom McGlone and Ronan Graham saw them run out winners by three points to top Group 1

Cloney Gaels: 1 Aiden Graham, 2 Stephen O’Connell, 3 James Magee, 4 Eamon Brady, 5 Fionnbar O’Neill, 6 Bernard Graham, 7 Daniel O’Neill, 8 Francis Neeson, 9 Neil O’Connell, 10 Owen Neeson, 11 Thomas McGlone, 12 Ronan Graham, 13 Colla McDonnell, 14 Donal Graham, 15 James O’Connell, Subs: Eoin Graham for Colla McDonnell, Gewrard Graham for Donal Graham.

St. Gall’s: 1 Kurtis McGreevey, 2 Duhaltach Wilson, 3Joe McDaniel, 4 Stephen Morrison, 5 Lorcan O’Ciarain, 6 Aodhan Gallagher, 7 Niall O’Neill, 8 Jack Hopkins, 9 Marcus Donnelly, 10 Tomas O’Ciarain, 11 Jackson McGreevey, 12 Patrick Friel, 13 Mark Napier, 14 Antoin McCaffery, 15 Sean McAreavey

Referee: Patrick Tumelty (Lamh Dhearg)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.