Early McBride goal the key as St John’s advance to quarter-final

Northern Switchgear SFC (round six)

Erin’s Own Cargin 0-10 St John’s 2-08

A goal in the opening minute by Patrick McBride was the start that St. John’s needed and paved the way to an important victory over Cargin in this vital Northern Switchgear SFC in Toome on Sunday.

Cargin net minder Michael Magill stood tall to deny Matthew Fitzpatrick’s initial effort but McBride was on hand to return the ball to the net and give his side the perfect start.

A win for Cargin would have left the Johnnies looking over their shoulder for the result in Moneyglass and score difference would have come into play but this win made the Moneyglass v Rossa result irrelevant.

The visitors arrived at the Shore road in need of points to earn a place against Creggan in the quarter finals of the championship but rated outsiders following a heavy defeat by their guests up at Corrigan in the reverse fixture.

The home side looked rattled after McBride’s early goal and it was not until the 10th when centre back Gerard McCann opened their account with an excellent point.

Cathal McOscar Photography

A foul on Ciaran Bradley was punished by Tomas McCann as he fired the resultant free between the posts and after the first water break, Mark Kelly came in from the left wing, after a Ronan Gribbin clearance sent him on his way, to add a point and Cargin looked to be on their way.

The visitors were forced into a change early in proceeding as Stephen Tierney entered the fray to replace Michael Dudley but they were next to make a mark as Domnaill Nugent advanced on the right hand side to despatch between the posts.

Cargin replied as Tomas McCann split the posts following a foul on Justin Crozier, and Ciaran Bradley followed suit from the right hand side to level the score at 0-5 to 1-02.

The home side were finding difficulty in negotiating a well organised St. John’s defence and Ross Hannigan’s clearance found Padraig Nugent, and a foul on the latter opened the way for McBride to send the resultant free between the posts to ensure a 1-03 to 0-05 lead at the short whistle.

Having made a swift start in the opening period, the Johnnies got a similar start to the second thirty minutes and an early point from Matthew Fitzpatrick was followed by a similar score from Domnaill Nugent.

The Whiterock men now held a three point lead over their hosts but that was about to change in a flurry of activity from the home side.

Cathal McOscar Photography

A foul on Tomas McCann was punished by the lively number 14 when he sent the resultant free between the posts and Kieran Close followed suit before McCann raised a white flag again to bring matters level. Ciaran Bradley added another to move the home side one ahead and things looked to be swing in favour of the reigning champions.

Cargin were forced to withdraw Ronan Gribbin with what looked like a bad shoulder injury as the second water break approached to be replaced by Gerard Mc Corley and Padraig Nugent stroked a ‘45’ directly between the posts to leave it all square, 0- 09 at the second water break.

The last quarter was only a minute old when the visitors struck with a smart counter attack. Domnaill Nugent intercepted a stray pass on the right hand side and sent Ross Hannigan racing towards the Cargin posts and the finish matched the approach as he fired to the back of the net to strike a killer blow to the home side.

Second period replacement Eunan Quinn replied with a 22nd minute point but Padraig Nugent replied with a similar score at the other end and it was to prove the final score as the Johnnies advance to a quarter final date with Creggan on a scoreline of 2-08 to 0-10, a great boost for the Corrigan Park side following their defeat in the hurling semi-final last weekend.

Cargin: Michael Magill, Sean Og Quinn, Kevin O’ Boyle, Brendan Laverty, Justin Crozier, Gerard Mc Cann (0-01, Ronan Gribbin, Kevin Mc Shane, John Carron, Ciaran Bradley (0-02), Mark Kelly (0-01), Pat Shivers, Tomas Mc Cann (0-04), Paul Mc Cann


Eunan Quinn for M Kelly

Kieran Close for K Mc Shane

David Johnston for P Mc Cann

Gerard Mc Corley for R Gribbin

St John’s: Pearse Donnelly, Conor Mc Evoy, Ciaran Garland, Michael Dudley, Ross Hannigan (1-00), Domnaill Nugent (0-02), Michael Dudley, Simon Mc Donagh, Ryan Mc Nulty, Padraig Nugent (0-02), Conor Johnston (0-01), Paddy Mc Bride (1-01), Conal Bohill, Matthew Fitzpatrick (0-02)


Stephen Tierney for M Dudley, Benen Kelly for Ciaran Bradley

Referee: Karol Doherty (Rasharkin)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.