Kane goal earns Saints the title

Antrim Junior Camogie Development Final

All Saints 4-4 St. Ergnat’s 2-9

An opportunist goal from Louise Kane, four minutes from time earned All Saints victory over a determined St. Ergnat’s Moneyglass in this Antrim Junior Camogie Development final at O’Cahan Park, Portglenone today.

The Ballymena side had suffered defeat to the girls from Moneyglass earlier in the season and went into this game as underdogs but a strong opening quarter put them in a strong position as they led 1-3 to 0-2 after 13 minutes before going on to extend that lead to  2-4 to 0-4 at the half way stage.

St. Ergnat’s came back strongly in the second half however with Sinead McCoy, Niamh McKeefry and substitute Cliona Griffin driving them forward and McCoy pointed them ahead for the first time with ten minutes remaining.

Louise Kane was quickest to react when the Moneyglass defence failed to deal with a ‘45’ from Sianeese Maybin as she gathered the sliotar and drove it through a crowded goalmouth and, although Niamh McKeefry replied with a point for St. Ergnat’s to close the gap to one, that was as close as they got.

All Saints captain Sianeese Maybin pointed a couple of early frees and when Briana-Lee Cushenan pulled first time on a breaking ball to send to the net in the 10th minute the Ballymena girls were in control.

Slowly though the Marion Hill side began to gain a foothold and a couple of points from the impressive Sinead McCoy got them on their way. Lucy McGuigan replied immediately with a point for the Slemish park girls and they went on to lead by six at the half way stage with a Sianeese Maybin Rocket after 20 minutes putting them in a strong position.

Things got even better on the restart with Briana-Lee Cushenan getting her second and All Saints third goal following a similar scenario to her opener with Sianeese Maybin’s free dropping short and Cushenan there to apply the finish.

They looked set for a comfortable victory at this stage but St. Ergnat’s dug deep and slowly began to get on top. Ciara Scullin replied with a point and then Evan Casey made a last ditch block to deny Niamh McKeefry to prevent a certain goal.

The pressure was starting to pay however and McKeefry pointed from the resulting ‘45’ before Katie Scullin got in for a goal in the 9th minute and as the All Saints defence reeled, Sinead McCoy followed with another and there was only a point between the sides at the second water break.

A couple of points from the impressive Sinead McCoy saw St. Ergnat’s move one in front as the final quarter got under way and the momentum was very much with the Moneyglass girls but All Saints picked themselves up of the floor and began to take control again.

They pressed forward once more and forced another ‘45’ with team captain Maybin stepping up once more to land an inviting delivery on top of the Moneyglass defence and this time Louise Kane was the player in the right place at the right time to finish to the net and give her side a two point lead.

St. Ergnat’s came back strongly but this time the All Saints defence stood strong to concede a ‘45’ which the sweet striking Niamh McKeefry converted to leave one between the sides once more but that was as close as they got.

There were scenes of wild celebration after the game as All Saints and their supporters enjoyed their first success in camogie for quite a number of years while their opponents St. Ergnat’s sportingly remained on the field as County Secretary, Catherine Bradley presented the Cup to All Saints captain Sianeese Maybin.

All Saints: Karen Davis, Alex Spurgeon, Sinead Devine, Rhiannon McArdle, Aoibhin Cosgrove, Sinead McGarry, Eva Casey, Lucy McGuigan, CVatriona Maybin, Roisin Ward, Sianeese Maybin, Louise Kane, Aimeelee Holmes,Brian-Lee Cushenan, Laura McNally. Subs: Cliodhna Metrustry, Leah McArdle, Bronagh McKillop, Dervla Murphy, Erin McArdle, Jessica McArdle, Orla Magill.

Naomh Eargnait: Sheena Neeson, Molly Dixon, Ciara McGrath, Amy McCann, Aine Scullin, Molly McCoy, Saoirse McErlain, Megan McGlinchey, Jude McCoy, Ciara Scullin, Niamh McKeefry, Sinead McCoy, Katie Scullin, Orlaith Scullin, Hannah Murray. Subs: Cliona Griffin, Dearbhail Murray, Sarah McCann, Ciara Madden, Maeve McStocker.

Referee: John McKendry (Ballycastle)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.