Creggan girls through to Ulster final

2020 Bridie McMenamin Shield semi-final

Creggan (Antrim) 4-19 Derrynoose (Armagh) 1-8

CREGGAN had the sliotar in the Derrynoose net as early as 35 seconds after it was thrown in on this Bridie McMenamin Shield semi-final and it kick-started a great day for the south west Antrim club.

However Creggan didn’t really shake off a determined Derrynoose challenge until the final quarter during which they out-scored the Armagh side by 2-9 to 0-2.

It took Derrynoose a while to get going with Eavanne Martin, Ella McAteer and Ruby Marie Rice keeping them under plenty of pressure, but they did make it through on a couple of occasions only to find Fiona Maguire in good form in goals.

Creggan led by 1-5 to 0-2 with four points coming from Martin. Niamh Murphy at midfield, Edel McMullan and Emma Hughes in defence and Sinéad Quinn up front eventually hit back for the Armagh side but they were still trailing by 2-6 to 0-5 at the break, the second Creggan goal coming from Ruby Marie Rice.

On the re-start Derrynoose got a shot in the arm when Pauline Cahill bundled the sliotar into the net and Sinéad Quinn added a quick point to bring the gap down to three points.

Eavanne Martin and Susan McElwee steadied home nerves with two points each before the second water-break and Creggan almost doubled their total in the final quarter with sub Cerys O’Neill and Martin finding the net.

It was Antrim minor who completed the scoring with one from play and another from a free to bring her total to 1-12, which is a point better than what she recorded in last week’s quarter-final.

Creggan: F Maguire, M Joyce, K Mulholland, M Nelson, S Murray, C McAuley, A McAuley, E Martin 1-12 (0-9f), A McAteer, A McKeown, C McCollum 0-1, R O’Hara, S McIlwee 1-2, RM Rice 1-2, R Mulholland

Subs:  E McAteer for A McKeown, C O’Neill 1-1, T Hamill for M Joyce, M Darragh for C McAteer.

Derrynoose: E Mone, S Duffy, D Heavin, N Duffin, S Lennon, L Haughey, E McCarthy, N Murphy, A Farrell, M Lennon, S Quinn 0-6 (3f), C Farrell, A McKearney, P Cahill 1-1, E Hughes.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.