Nine Antrim players in Camogie Colleges All Star team

Ulster Schools’ Camogie All-stars 2021-22

SEVEN of the Antrim team that eclipsed the All-Ireland Minor B title in September have caught the eye of the Ulster schools’ All-star selectors this week at the final trial hosted by UUJ

These include four players from Cross and Passion, Ballycastle. Minor captain Fionnuala Kelly, whose older sister and senior star Maeve collected two awards while a student in the school, makes the team.

Another player who matches an older sister with an award is Orlagh Laverty. Ciara Laverty was in the last All-star team two years ago, as was Caoimhe Molloy, whose sister Katie makes the team this season.

Katie is a student in St Louis Ballymena who also have goalie Orlagh Convery in the selection. The second goalie is also from Antrim; Orla Donnelly starred for Antrim in both All-Ireland minor finals, the drawn game and then the replay.

Orla is a student in St Killian’s Garron Tower, as is midfielder Síne Woodhouse while another of the Antrim minors, Evanne Martin, is one of three representatives from St Patrick’s Maghera. Evanne has been in prolific form for Creggan in recent weeks and will line out with the Kickham’s in tomorrow’s (SATURDAY) Bridie McMenamin Cup final in Magherafelt.

There are also awards for Cassie McArthur and Nuala Devlin both of whom scored spectacular goals in the All-Ireland final replay

Elsewhere there are four Derry players, five from Down including three from Ballygalget and Our Lady’s & St Patrick’s Knock.

There is a very first award for Dean Mag Uirc College in Carrickmore, a recent addition to Ulster schools’ camogie competitions, while Katie Comiskey, a student in St Patrick’s Academy is technically the only Armagh player, as her club is An Port Mór.

Breifne College Cavan have two player in the selection and that doubles the number of awards the school has collected in recent years. One of them is Cara Reilly who will be in action next week with her club Crosserlough in the Ulster Junior championship when they take on Tír na nÓg.

The Ulster All-stars normally represent the province in the schools’ inter-provincial competition, but that is unlikely to take place this year. However Ulster Schools’ Council still hopes to organise the Gala Dinner early in 2022 at which the 24 players will officially receive their awards and provincial jersey.

Ulster Schools’ Camogie All-stars 2021-22

Orlagh Laverty, Fionnuala Kelly, Nuala Devlin, Cassie McArthur (Cross and Passion, Ballycastle)

Tara Monan, Ciara Fitzsimons, Beth Coulter (Our Lady’s & St Patrick’s Knock)

Doireann Donnelly, Aimee Lennon, Evanne Martin (St Patrick’s, Maghera)

Orla Donnelly, Síne Woodhouse (St Killian’s, Garron Tower)

Orlagh Convery, Katie Molloy (St Louis, Ballymena)

Cliodhna Hickson, Shannon Scullion (St Colm’s Draperstown)

Cara Reilly, Sinéad Livingston (Breifne College Cavan)

Tierna Savage (St Mark’s Warrenpoint)

Lucy O’Kane (Loreto Coleraine)

Orlaith McCusker (Sacred Heart Newry)

Aoibhin Daly (Dean Mag Uirc College Carrickmore)

Katie Comiskey (St Patrick’s Academy Dungannon)

Rachel Keenan (St Mary’s Magherafelt)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.