Clarke goal proves the difference as Cargin collect the points

ACFL Division 1 (round two)

BY Geordie McGuckin

Erin’s Own Cargin 1-12 St Mary’s Aghagallon 0-12

 A Michael Clarke goal following a Justin Crozier’s, David Johnston and Ryan McKiernan build up proved the difference as Cargin gained the win over last year’s championship finalists Aghagallon in Toome today.

Little had separated the sides from flagfall but that major strike by the corner man ensured Cargin held advantage at the end of the first quarter and despite the endeavours of the visitors in the second, the Erin’s Own men were not to be overhauled.

Aghagallon gained a victory over the visiting St Gall’s in the opening round and they looked like getting away to an excellent start only for Eunan Walsh to be denied by the Cargin net minder.

John Mc Nabb had to make a smashing save to deny the incoming Walsh but St Mary’s were enjoying the better of the opening minutes and back to back points by Niall McShane ensured a 0-04 to 0-02 lead by the end of the first quarter.

Kevin O’ Boyle got to grips with the favoured long delivery by Aghagallon and his side were back on terms by the 23rd minute with the hard grafting John Carron adding back to back points.

Aghagallon edged ahead again in the 28th minute as Niall Patterson delivered between the posts but their lead was not to last as the home side finished the opening half strongly.

Justin Crozier rose high to halt an Aghagallon counter and fed David Johnston who found Ryan McKiernan and his lay off opened the door for corner man Michael Clarke to deliver to the back of the net to give Cargin the lead as half time approached.

Cargin opened the second half on the offensive and a smart exchange involving Gerard McCorley and Sean Og O’ Neill saw the latter raise white and when David Johnston and Pat Shivers followed suit the home side had opened up a five point lead.

Aghagallon soon made reply as Eunan Walsh despatched a 38th minute free between the posts and centre back Niall McShane added a long range special to reduce the deficit to a single score at 1-07 to 0-07.

Cargin regained the initiative after a time under the cosh and net minder John Mc Nabb came forward to despatch a right sided free from 40 metres between the posts before Justin Crozier added another.

The Toome men were in control as the last quarter progressed and an excellent score from Niall McKenna for the visitors brought reply from Justin Crozier with Sean Og O’ Neill adding another.

Eunan Walsh and Niall Patterson points kept the visitors in contention as the second period progressed but a 55th minute Pat Shivers point saw Cargin move five clear with the clock ticking down.

In the event the visitors retained focus as both Jamie Lamont and Niall Patterson raised white flags in the latter stages but that was as close as they got with the home side running out 1-12 to 0-12 winners.

Cargin: John McNabb (0-01), Sean Og Quinn (0-01), Kevin O’ Boyle, Gerard Mc Corley, Mark Keegan, Justin Crozier (0-010, Sean og O’ Neill (0-01),Gerard Mc Cann, Ciaran Bradley, Benen Kelly, David Johnston (0-02), John Carron (0-03), Michael Clarke (1-00), Ryan Mc Kiernan, Pat Shivers (0-03) Benen Kelly 0-1


Paudie Mc Laughlin for R Mc Kiernan

Enda Mc Grogan for D Johnston

Conan Johnston for M Keegan

Tom Shivers for P Mc Laughlin

Aghagallon: Luke Mulholland, Jamie Lamont (0-01), Aidan Mulholland, Aaron Doherty, Ciaran Maginnis, Niall Mc Shane (0-04), Stephen Devlin, Jack Lenehan, Oisin Lenahan, Jonathan Hannon, Ruairi Mc Cann (0-01), Niall Patterson 0-02), Hugh Hannon (0-01), Eunan Walsh (0-03), Jonathan Harbinson.

Referee Cathal McDermott (Tir na nOg)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.