Antrim see off Donegal to reach league final

LGFA Ulster Minor League – Round 5

Donegal 2-3 Antrim 4-21

Antrim proved much too good for Donegal in this Ulster Minor league round 5 game, played in Ballybofey today to qualify for the final against Cavan, the only team to have beaten them in the league section. The young Saffrons dominated for nearly all of the game and were well on their way to victory when they led 1-10 to 1-1 at half time.

Aisling Mulholland pointed them ahead after five minutes but Donegal came back with a goal from Aobha Pasoma in the 8th minute to take the lead.

This score spurred Antrim into life and they responded with points from Blaithin Ni Cathail, Robyn Murray, Ailbhe Kane, Aoibhin Cosgrove, Maria O’Neill, Aileen McDonnell, Ailbhe Kane again and Laura Kane 0-2 to lead 1-10 to 1-1 at Half time, their goal coming from Maria O’Neill in the 22nd minute and Aoibhe Doohan getting the Donegal point.

After the break Antrim continued to call the shots and never looked like letting the Tir Connaill girls back into the game as they added points from, Aisling Mulholland, Robyn Murray, Ciara Maguire, Ailbhe Kane and Alyssa Davidson.

Donegal finally managed to open their second half account as their best player, Aoife Doohan scored her second point in the 42nd minute but the impressive Kane fired home Antrim’s second goal with 8 minutes remaining.

Ciara Maguire followed with another to put the game well out of the reach of Donegal but to their credit the home side kept going and were rewarded with a late goal from Pasoma that only served to put a better look on the scoreline.

Antrim now meet Cavan in the decider and will be keen to avenge a defeat to the Breffni girls early in this year’s campaign and on the evidence of what they showed today and last week against Tyrone, they are quite capable of reversing that earlier Cavan result.

Donegal: 1 Aislin Ni Gallachoir, 2 Abigail Temole Asouka, 3 Aoibheann Doherty, 4 Abbie McGranaghan, 5 Hannah Hopkins, 6 Aoibheann McGarrigle, 7 Sophie Murphy, 8 Holly Rocry,9 Erin Gallen, 10 Clodagh O’Connor, 11 Aoife Doohan, 12 Niamh Harkin, 13 Louise Doherty, 14 Aobha Pasoma, 15 Emma Neeson.

Antrim: 1 Emily McCoy, 2 Erin Duffin, 3 Broghan Crossin, 4 Cora Leonard, 5 Aisling Mulholland, 6 Aileen McDonnell, 7 Carla McKenna, 8 Raichael Mulholland, 9 Suibhne Gibney, 10 Robyn Murray, 11 Maria O’Neill, 12 Sarah Fyfe, 13 Aoibhin Cosgrove, 14 Ailbhe Kane 15 Blaithin Ni Cathail, 18 Aine Kelly 19 Gabby Monaghan, 20 Laura Agnew, 21 Ciara Maguire, Agnew, 22 Alyssa Davidson, 24 Aoife Kelly

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.