McShane goal sends Cargin on their way to victory

ACFL Division 1 Reserve

Casement’s Portglenone 1-08 Cargin 1-14

A Kevin Mc Shane goal delivered in the 13th minute by the back to fitness mid-fielder, who just recently returned from a lengthy spell on the side lines, led the way to victory as Cargin collected the points at the expense of a hard working Casement’s in an entertaining Reserve fixture at Kelly Park on Monday evening.

The Toome lads had the better start with Tom Shivers weighing in with back to back points in the opening minutes but it was after the home side gained in momentum to raise back to back white flags that Sean Mc Auley and Enda Mc Grogan sent Kevin Mc Shane in to deliver to the back of the net.

Mc Shane’s strike added impetus to the Toome men’s challenge and a Michael Clarke point saw them nip away to lead 1-06 to 0-03 after 20th minutes but the home side replied with the pace laden Sean Byrne causing problems for the Cargin defence and Niall Kelly added back to back points to reduce the deficit.

Cargin had the better of the latter stages with Mark Keegan and Conan Johnston impressive in defence and back to back points from PJ Quinn gave them them a 1-07 to 0-04 lead at the short blast.

The visitors started the secnd half as they had concluded in the first and a foul on Brendan Laverty was firmly punished when PJ Quinn sent the resultant award between the posts, and the corner forward followed suit shortly after when Tom Shivers fetched and delivered.

Casement’s struggled as the second half progressed and PJ Quinn added another white with Enda McGroggan adding another and the visitors looked well on the way.

The home side were struggling but the introduction of James McLarnon and Dermot Magill was to prove significant.

A goal from the latter after a nifty assist from Michael Kelly got them going and McLarnon added three unanswered points in the closing stages to put a better reflection on the scoreline.

Casements: Jordan Hyndman, Daniel Mc Nicholl, Declan Dobbin, Michael Mc Garry, Aodhan Kelly, Callum Lynch, Ciaran Lynch, Stephen Kelly, Ciaran Mc Kenna, Patrick Graffin, Sean Byrne, Michael Kelly, Niall Kelly (0-04)


M Mc Garry for M Donnelly

Dermot Magill (1-00) for S Kelly

James Mc Larnon (0-04) for D Magill

Cargin: Shea Laverty, Gerard Mc Corley, Conan Johnston, Mark Keegan, Brendan Laverty, Brian og Devlin, Eoin Coyle, Kevin Mc Shane (1-01), Odhran Molloy, David Johnston, Enda Mc Grogan 0-03),  Michael Clark (0-01), Tom Shivers (0-02), Shay Bovill, PJ Quinn (0-06)


Sean Mc Auley for E Coyle

Eunan Quinn (0-01) for O Molloy

Referee R Leahy (St Comgall’s)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.