O Donnell’s hit Aggies for six

Photographs: Bert Trowlen

ACFL Division 3

St. Agnes 2-7 O’Donnell’s 6-18

O’Donnell’s maintain their challenge at the top end of the division 3 table with a resounding win over St. Agnes last night at Woodlands to maintain their joint second place position and improve their score difference as the hit the home side for six.

The MacRory Park side took the initiative from early in the game with Ciaran Ferran dominating at mid-field and by half time they were well on their way to victory where they led by 2-6 to 0-5 with the impressive Ciaran Ferran getting the opening goal.

A great move from deep in defence led to the O’Donnell’s second goal with Eugene Gallagher getting on the end of a fluent move to finish to the net.

Padraig McKissock 0-2, Eugene Gallagher 0-2, Richard McAvoy 0-2 and Cailean Walsh were the point scorers for the visitors while Dylan Cunningham 0-2, Conor Mclean, Brian Crossan and Colin Clarke were the St. Agnes point scorers.

The Whiterock Road side continued to dominate as the second half got under way and Ciaran Ferran  got on ther end of a long delivery to finish to the net for their third goal. St. Agnes continued to give it everything and were rewarded when Conor McLean flicked a dropping ball to the net but it provoked another response from a rampant O’Donnell’s.

Despite emptying their bench O’D’s continued to score freely with Ciaran Ferran bringing his personal goal scoring tally to four and Darra White getting another with Conor Walsh replying with a quickly taken free for St. Agnes second goal.

O’Donnell’s now sit on 13 points from 8 starts in joint second place with Naomh Comhghall who have the same number of points from the same number played but have a superior score difference while Naomh Padraig Lisburn top the table 0n 14 points from 8 games played.

St. Agnes: 1 Paul McStravick, 2 Paul Kennedy, 3 Niall Gillespie, 4 Games Grieve, 5 Conor Compston, 6 Dylan Cunningham, 7 Killian McCormick, 8 James Halleron, 9 Colin Clarke, 10 Paul McClenaghan, 11 Brian Crossan, 12 Cioran Flannery, 13 Paddy Toner, 14 Conor McLean, 15 Conor Gilligan, 17 Matt Carlin, 18 Peter McCullough, 19 David McGaharan, 20 Luke Duffy

O’Donnell’s: 1 Conor Murphy, 2 Caoimhin Doherty, 3 Stephen Seawright, 4 GerardSloan, 5 Kevin Kennedy, 6 Scott Thompson, 17 Gerard McKernan, 8 Ciaran Ferran, 9 Connor Walsh, 10 Richard McAvoy, 11 Cailean Walsh, 12 Fergal McNerney, 13 Ciaran McKissock, 14 Padraig McKissock, 15 Eugene Gallagher

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.