Johnnies stay unbeaten as the Emmet’s visit Corrigan

Antrim Hurling League Division 1

St John’s 1-31 Cushendun 0-13

Cushendun’s first visit to Corrigan Park for quite a few years turned out to be a baptism of fire for the Emmet’s as they were put to the sword by a slick moving Johnnies side who stay unbeaten with four wins out of four. The visitors fared well in the first half but once they hit their stride the Johnnies pulled away to win with ease.

The Emmet’s started well enough and after centre back Paddy Nugent and corner forward Dannan McKeogh put St John’s ahead they came back with three of their own through Calum Kilgore and two from Conlaoth McNeill to take the lead after seven minutes.

Ciaran Johnston brought the home team level and Ruairi Galbraith and Oisin McManus pushed them ahead again, but Cushendun responded well again as Donal O’Hara fired two over and Calum Kilgore added another to keep their noses ahead midway through the half. However St John’s were beginning to get on top and three on the spin from Ciaran Johnston, Ruairi Galbraith and Shea Shannon gave them a lead they were never to lose.

Peter McCallin and ‘loaf’ McNeill exchanged points with eight minutes to go in the opening half, but St John’s finished strongly and pushed on to lead by 0-14 to 0-6 at half time.

Three in the first five minutes of the second half from Shea Shannon and one from Oisin McManus stretched the lead to eleven, before David Kilgore pointed another free to cut it back to ten. Cushendun had a good little spell where the Kilgore brothers David and Harry, plus free taker Conlaoth McNeill sent over points, but the Johnnies were moving well and the scores kept coming at the other end.

Johnston, McCallin and McKeogh fired over and after Conor McHugh pulled one back for the Emmet’s Mickey Kiely, CJ McKenna, Ruairi Galbraith and Oisin McManus got in on the act before Shane Dunne fires to the net to complete another good day for the Corrigan Park men

St John’s

  1. Colm McFall

2 -Louis Boyd

3 – Jack Bohill

4 – Odhran Carelton

5 – Mikey Kiely

6 – Pádraig Nugent

7 – CJ McKenna

8 – Shea Shannon

9 – Shane Dunne

10 – Oisín MacManus

11 – Ciaran Johnston

12 – Peter McCallin

13 – Ruairi Galbraith

14 – Ferghal MacManus

15 – Dannan McKeogh

Cushendun Emmets
1 – Gareth Magee
2 – Pearse Bannon
3 – Aidan Corbett
4 – Jack McKay
5 – Cavan McCormick
6 – Conor McHugh (Smiley)
7 – Thomas Scally
8 – David Kilgore
9 – Callum Kilgore
10 – Leo Morgan
11 – Donald O’Hara
12 – John V Morgan
13 – Aidan McSparron
– Harry Kilgore
15 – Michael McHugh

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.