Late Mulholland point wins St Pat’s the Thompson Cup

Danske Bank Thompson Cup – Year 8 Hurling

A point with practically the last poc of the game by Don Mulholland earned St Pat’s Maghera victory over St Mary’s CBGS in Monday’s final of the Thompson Cup at Lavey. In a great final St Pat’s had led by 2-1 to 0-2 at half time, the goals coming from Sean O’Hara and Don Mulholland, but St Mary’s hit back to level in the second period with two goals from Oisin Kennedy.

With the sides level the game looked set to go to extra time, but Mulholland’s point swung it back in St Pat’s favour and the trophy was bound for Maghera.

On their way to the final St Pat’s had beaten Cross & Passion Ballycastle in the semi-final while St Mary’s got the better of St Louis Ballymena. In the quarter finals St Louis beat Our Lady and St Patrick’s Knock, while CPC beat St Killian’s Garron Tower

Conor Hynds presents the Danske Bank Thompson Cup to the St Pat’s captains Donacha Collins and Don Mulholland
Beaten finalists St Mary’s CBGS

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.