Ballycastle beat Ballygalget with strong second half display

Antrim Hurling League Division 1

McQuillan, Ballycastle 2-19 Ballygalget 0-12

As so often Ciaran Clarke’s precise accuracy from a dead ball proved vital for the Town. With the wind assisting Ballygalget in the first half, this had all the hallmarks of a closely fought encounter, It was point for point for large parts of the first half ,the sides being level on four occasions, however a strong second half performance from the Town saw them run out with a well-deserved 13 point win.

Ciaran Clarke opened proceedings with a pointed free but the Down side were to respond with two points before James McLister levelled things up.

Points apiece from the wing three quarter men Seamus McAuley and Joe McToal, were answered by similar scores at the other end, before a Ciaran McKeague clearance found James McLister for the full forwards second point of the game.

Four further Ciaran Clarke points and a brace from Feargal McKiernan would round off the first half scoring for the Town, and at half-time the home side were more than happy to turnaround with a two point advantage 0-11 to 0-9.

Ballygalget opened the second half with two points but would only add another single point in the remainder of the half which would also see them seen them reduced to 14 men.

Ciaran Clarke knocked over a free before Conor Boyd picked out Seamus McAuley with a sublime pass to help re-establish the two-point advantage.

The award and conversion of a penalty finished the game as a contest as Ciaran Clarke rifled the sliothar low to the keeper’s right.  The goal tally was to double minutes later, when Seamus McAuley was on the end of a neat passing move involving Oisin McAuley and Ciaran Clarke to find the top corner of the net.

Further points from Clarke, McKiernan and Smyth would round off a good scoring day for the home side, but injuries to James McLister (concussion) and Seamus McAuley (broken wrist) would cast a cloud for the Ballycastle camp.

McQuillan: Críostaí McAuley, Jack McGowan, Neal McAuley, Dermot Donnelly, Ciaran McKeague, Conor Boyd, Matthew Donnelly, Ronan McCarry, Ronan Laverty , Seamus McAuley (1-3), James McLister (0-2), Joe McToal (0-1), Tiarnan Smyth (0-1), Feargal McKiernan (0-3), Ciaran Clarke (1-9 (1-0 pen 0-8 f).

Subs used: Oisín McAuley, Lorcan Donnelly, James Bakewell, Oran Kearney, Michael Dallat.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.