Oisins get their first win

Andersonstown Social Club Intermediate Hurling Championship

Oisins 0-17 Con Magees 1-9

Glenariffe got their first win of their Intermediate Hurling Championship campaign when the beat neighbours Glenravel by five points on Saturday in Waterfoot. Ten points clear with twenty minutues still to play, the Oisins only hit two more scores for the remainder of the game and had to withstand a fightback from their visitors. The Con Magees pulled the gap back to five at the end with a late Martin Scullion goal, but had they have had a free taker of the calibre of the Oisins Alex O’Boyle then the score could have been much closer.

O’Boyle had the Oisins three clear after just two minutes, two of them from frees and one from play, before Declan McAuley got Glenravel on the scoreboard in the fourth minute.

Points from Michael O’Boyle and Alex O’Boyle were answered by two from the Con Mages Sean McKay and Declan Traynor to keep the gap at three, but five on the trot from the homes side, four of them from Alex O’Boyle and one from David Kearney stretched the lead out to ten by the 25th minute. Sean McKay and Niall Donnelly pulled two back to leave just five between the sides, but Alex O’Boyle came back with another one from a free to give his team a 0-11 to 0-5 gap at the interval.

With the breeze behind them in the second half Glenravel restarted with a lot of hope but four points in a row from Conor Patterson, Alex O’Boyle (2) and Padear McDonnell stretched the home sides lead to ten. Ryan Lennon and Conleth O’Loan got their team’s first scores of the second half but they squandered some good chances of closing the gap. Alex O’Boyle ended a sixteen minutes spell for the Oisins with a pointed free, and though the Glenravel men finished strongly with a point from Sean McKay and a goal from the veteran Martin Scullion, it was too little to late


Paul McMullan, Michael Haughey, Niall Murray, Daniel Kearney, Donal Kearney, Conor Patterson, Michael Gettings, Seanie McIntosh, Odhran Gillen, Oliver Kearney, David Kearney, Alex O’Boyle, Caolan O’Connor, Seamus McDonnell, Michael O’Boyle.


Ronan Donnelly, Caolan Mullan, Shane Woulahan, Brian O’Neill, Conleth O’Loan, Eoin McCusker, Michael McDonnell, James Duffin, Rian Lennon, Johnny Fyfe, Martin Scullion, Sean McKay, Declan McAuley, Niall Donnelly, Decan Traynor

Referee – Fiontann McCotter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.