Armoy advance to quarter-finals

Casement SC JHC Group 2

Glen Rovers 2-19 Lamh Dhearg 2-9

Glen Rovers, Armoy became the third team to qualify from Group2 of the Casement SC JHC when they overcame the challenge of Lamh Dhearg in Armoy today. The home side were well on their way to victory at the halfway stage when they led 2-13 to 1-3 and despite a spirited comeback from their opponents in the second half they never looked like losing.

Despite losing Owen Kinney after 7 minutes for a late challenge the home side dominated the opening half and goals from Colin Lordan in the 4th minute, set up by Kinney, and another from Eamon McCaughan with 7 minutes gone and points from Eoin O’Boyle and Thomas Burns put them in a commanding position.

Lamh Dhearg  had opened their account with a point from Aidan McGuigan and a Declan Lynch goal with 9 minutes on the clock suggested we were in for a tight contest but it was Glen Rovers who went on to dominate the opening half despite being a man down.

Turlach McBride led the way with an excellent exhibition of free taking converting four of Armoy’s next six unanswered points by the 16th minute with one of them from 50 meters and another from inside his own half.

Thomas Burns and PJ McBride got the other two as the home side moved 2-7 to 1-1 ahead before Odhran Waldron replied with a point for the Hannastown side but it brought an immediate reply from Eamonn McCaughan and Eoin O’Boyle. A great long range effort from Fionn Mewrvyn brought the visitors total to 1-3 with six minutes remaining to half time but it was Glen Rovers who finished on the offensive.

Eoin O’Boyle pointed in the 25th minute and Turlach McBride added another from a free as things momentarily threatened to boil over and Rocky Dillon concluded the first half scoring with a long range effort to leave his side 13 points ahead at the interval.

Lamh Dhearg introduced Conal McGuigan and Ciaran Boyd at the start of the second half with Gerard Smyth dropping deep and the visitors got off to a good start with points from Declan Lynch, Daniel Murray and Conal McGuigan to cut the gap to ten with only two minutes of the new half gone.

It was back to 13 however by the 6th minute as Armoy replied through Turlach McBride, Eamonn McCaughan and PJ McBride and normal service appeared to have been resumed.

The visitors were now enjoying much more of the play however and Declan Lynch fired over before Callum Coyles made a great save to deny Conal McGuigan as Lamh Dhearg fought hard to get back into the game.

The home side always had the edge however and replied through Colin Lordan and another Turlach McBride free by the 18th minute but Lamh Dhearg were still fighting hard and substitute Mark Finnegan had a close range effort cleared for a ‘65’.

Declan Lynch dropped the resulting award into the danger area and in the scramble that followed a defender deflected the sliotar into his own net with Lynch following immediately with a point from play as the Hannstown side enjoyed their best spell of the game.

The visitors went for broke in the closing stages and continued to drop long balls into the danger area in search of another goal but the Glen Rovers defence stood strong with Turlach McBride and Declan Lynch exchanging late points to conclude the scoring.

The Armoy men will now have an eye on tomorrow’s Group 1 game between Rasharkin and Davitt’s in Dreen with both sides on 4 points from 2 starts and a win or even a draw would see St. Mary’s finish top of the group while Davitt’s need a win if they are to avoid a quarter final meeting with the Glen Rovers.

Glen Rovers: 1 Conor Devlin, 2 Callum Coyles, 4 Emmet O’Hara, 5 Liam Dillon, 6 Arthur Devlin, 7 Eoin O’Boyle, 8 Joseph McFetridge, 9 PJ McBride, 10 Ciaran McKenna, 11 Thomas Burns, 12 Turlach McBride, 13 Colin Lordan, 17 John Dillon, 21 Owen Kinney, 25 Eamonn McCaughan

Lamh Dhearg: 1 Rhys McClennnigan, 2 Christopher Nolan, 3 Joel Brady, 4 Ben Rice, 5 Tiernan McKenna, 6 Padraig Mervyn, 7 Fionn Mervyn, 8 Sean Paul Gibson, 9 Daniel Murray, 10 Aidan McGuigan, 11 Odhran Waldron, 12 Declan Lynch, 13 Niall McGarry, 14 Gerard Smyth, 15 Dare Cunningham. Subs: 21 Conal McGuigan, 17 Ciaran Boyd, 24 Mark Finnegan

Referee: Ray Matthews (Rossa)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.