Comfortable win in the end for Casement’s

Northern Switchgear SFC Quarter-Final

Portglenone 1-15 Gort na Mona 0-5

It turned out to be comfortable in the end for Casement’s Portglenone when they proved too good for a battling Gort na Mona in this second Northern Switchgear SFC quarter-final at Dunsilly on Saturday.

The Turf Lodge side gave it everything and indeed took a two point lead after 5 minutes with Niall Mellaney swinging over a sweet left footed point and wing half, Neil Henry adding an equally impressive effort.

Portglenone took a time to get into their stride but Aidan McAleese opened their account in the 7th minute with a fine point before Conal Delargy soloed through for the equaliser in the 8th minute and they looked to be gaining the upper hand.

Gort na Mona were having none of it as they kept possession well before breaking forward again and Padraig McHugh edged them in front once more from a free in the 12th minute.

Things were certainly starting to liven up and Paddy Kelly’s free at the other end just made it over off the crossbar but the same player made sure with another from play which sailed clean between the uprights to move his side ahead for the first time in the 17th minute.

Oisin Doherty followed with a great point in the 20th minute to move the South West side two in front as they began to play with a bit of confidence and when Ruairi Hagan got through for his first of the game they had moved three in front.

Gort na Mona were still battling for every ball and were rewarded for their efforts when Padraig McHugh converted his second free of the half in the 27th minute but once again their opponents responded and Caolan Tierney and Paddy Kelly from a ‘45’ hit the final two scores of the half to move them 0-8 to 0-4 ahead at the break.

Darren Boyd replaced Aidan McDonagh in the Gort na Mona side at the start of the second half and the Belfast side looked to be in for an early goal but Christopher Carson scuffed his effort and it sailed wide of the upright.

Portglenone replied and from the resulting kick-out the ball was transferred quickly to attack and Michael Hagan finished in style to move his side five in front.

Back came the Turf Lodge men and Padraig McHugh pointed a free in the 9th minute to again close the gap to four and give his side renewed hope but it would prove to be their final score of the game as Casement’s took control.

Aidan McAleese replied with a point at the other end and then Thomas McCafferty in the Gort’s goals brought off a great save to deny Ruairi Hagan what looked a certain goal as Ciaron McKenna replaced Conal Delargy in the Portglenone attack.

Paddy Kelly pointed the resulting ‘45’ and Michael Hagan pointed from a free before McKenna got his name on the score-sheet with a good point as John McKeever’s side started to pull away.

Once again it was that man McCafferty who came to Gort na Mona’s rescue with his second splendid save of the second half but he was finally beaten when Ryan Convery got on the end of a good build up to finish Oisin Doherty pass to the net in the 27th minute to put the game well out of reach of their opponents.

The Belfast side kept going to the end with the towering Christopher Carson moved to the edge of the square and they launched several Hail-Mary’s into the danger area but Portglenone had doubled up on the big number 11 and their efforts came to nothing.

Portglenone now go forward to meet the winners of tomorrow’s quarter-final between St. Brigid’s and Aghagallon and there will no doubt be more than a few interested observers from the South West side at Hannastown for that one.

Casement’s: 1 Ryan O’Neill, 3 Jonny Convery, 4 Ronan Delargy, 5 Caolan Tierney, 6 Dermot McAleese, 7 Ryan Convery, 8 Niall Delargy, 9 Niall McKeever, 10 Ruairi Hagan, 11 Michael Hagan, 12 Stephen Kelly, 13 Aidan McAleese, 22 Paddy Kelly, 14 Conal Delargy, 15 Oisin Doherty, Subs: 19 Shane Delargy, 24 Michael Kelly

Gort na Mona: 1 Thomas McCafferty, 2 Connor Connolly, 3 Gavin McKenna, 4 Padraig Cournane, 5 Aidan McDonagh, 6 Michael Savage, 7 Neil Henry, 8 Caoimhin Magee, 10 Padraig Mulvenna, 11 Christopher Carson, 12 Niall Mellaney, 13 Dessie McLean, 14 Patrick McCafferty, 15 Padraig McHugh, 19 Brendan Burns. Subs: Darren Boyd, Ciaran McKenna, Manus McMullan

Referee: Eamon McAuley (Cargin)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.