Goals the difference as St. Ergnat’s advance

LGFA U16 Semi-Final

Moneyglass 3-9 Gort Na Mona 0-8

Moneyglass advanced to the LGFA U16 final when they defeated a spirited Gort na Mona in the semi-final on Tuesday night and now go forward to meet St. Paul’s in next Tuesday’s decider. Goals from Maria McNally, Leah Stewart and player of the match, Jo-Jo Darragh, set the foundations for a fairly comprehensive victory but the Turf Lodge girls should be commended for their contribution over the hour.

Darragh got St. Ergnat’s on their way with a point in the 4th minute but Gort na Mona were giving as good as they got during the early exchanges and replied through mid-fielder, Casey Meighan to draw level with 10 minutes gone.

Leah Stewart for Moneyglass and Nicole Dobbin for the ‘Gorts’ exchanged points before Josephine Darragh and Cara McKeefry replied with further points for the South West girls by the 16th minute as they began to take control.

St. Ergnat’s pushed on strongly during the second quarter and a goal from Maria McNally in the 18th minute put a bit of distance between the sides with Leah Stewart adding a point and finishing the half with a goal and Mia Mills replying with two points for the Belfast girls to leave the half time score 2-5 to 0-4 in favour of Moneyglass.

Orla McNulty for Gort na Mona and Josephine Darragh for Moneyglass exchanged further points at the start of the second half but Jo-Jo for the Marian Hill side was beginning to stamp her class on proceedings and she struck with her side’s third goal in the 44th minute to put them in a strong position going into the final quarter.

The same player added two further points and another from Katie Kearney put the contest out of reach of a Gort na Mona side who battled right to the final whistle and were rewarded with points from the excellent Mia Mills 0-2 and Orla McNulty to bring their total to 8 for the hour.

Moneyglass: 1 Siobhan Maguire, 2 Aoife McGrogan, 3 Katie O’Boyle, 4 Aibhe O’Boyle, 5 Nicole Graham, 6 Katie McCloskey, 7 Caitlin Griffin, 8 Leah Cassidy, 9 Maria McNally, 10 Ruby McErlain, 11 Orlaith McAteer, 12 Cara McKeefry, 13 Josephine Darragh, 14 Leah Stewart, 15 Annie Griffin

Gort na Mona: 1 Holly McGahey, 2 Aoibh Bradley, 3 Rhianna Morton, 4 Katie Kearney, 5 Seana Bradley, 6 Chloe Lennon, 7 Darcy Ward, 8 Casey Meighan, 9 Nicole Dobbin, 10 Orla McNulty, 11 Mia Mills, 12 Cara Nolan, 13 Chloe Boyd Munce, 14 Demi McGreevy, 15 Grace McConway

Referee: Fionnula Murphy

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.