Cushendun win well to secure semi-final place


Cushendun Emmet’s 6-21 Gort na Móna 1-7

Cushendun Emmet’s breezed through to the semi-final of the Intermediate Hurling Championship when they beat Gort na Móna in their final group game on Saturday in Cushendun.

The team controlled the game from start to finish and it was clear from an early stage that they were going to go through. Early points from Donal O’Hara, Conor McHugh and Pearse Bannon were followed by two quick goals from the Kilgore brothers Harry and David. Conlaoth McNeill added a point from a 65 on eight minutes and Harry Kilgore sent one over from play before Dessie McClean got the Gorts on the board in the 13th minute.

Cushendun’s Harry Kilgore in action during his team’s IHC win over Gortnamona in Cushendun. Pic by Micky Morgan

Harry Kilgore got his second goal a minute later, David Kilgore and Tom Scally added points from play and ‘Loaf’ McNeill got another from a 65 before a depleted f Gorts got their second from play through Patrick McCaffrey. Points from Harry Kilgore and Loaf from a penalty were answered by twopointed frees from the evergreen Dessie McClean, but another David Kilgore goal just before the interval put Cushendun 4-10 to 0-4 clear by half time.

David Kilgore completed his hat-trick four minutes into the second half and though Cushendun emptied their bench to give as many players as possible a run out, the scores kept coming, with one of those subs, Conor O’Hara, getting the sixth goal four minutes from the end.

This win sets up an intriguing semi-final with Glenariffe in two weeks’ time. There have been a lot of links between the clubs over  the years, with a good few of the Emmet’s team having played their minor hurling with the Oisins in recent years and this promises to be cracking contest.


Gareth McGhee, Sean Hamilton, Aidan Corbett, Jack McKay, Archie McSparran, Donal O’Hara, Tom Scally, Oisin McMahon, Calum Kilgore, Conor McHugh, Harry Kilgore, Conlaoth McNeill, Conor Bannon, David Kilgore, Pearse Bannon.

Subs – Michael McHugh, Conor O’Hara, Gavan McCormick, Aidan McSparran, Leo Morgan


Mark Rea, Conor Healy, Gavin McKenna, Noah McGivern, Patrick Cournane, Padraig McHugh, David Dixon, James Connolly, Declan Hughes, Patrick McCaffrey, Tiernan Morton, Tiernan O’Cadhlaigh, Manus MacMaolain, Joseph Caddell, Dessy McClean.

Referee – Ray Matthews.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.