Late surge secures the McMullan Cup for Loughgiel

McMullan Cup – North Antrim Under 15 Hurling

Loughgiel: 3-13  Glenariff: 1-12

A strong finish by Loughgiel saw them win back the McMullan Cup at the expense of Glenariffe-Glenravel in Sunday’s final at Cushendun. Twelve minute from the end of normal time Glenariffe-Glenravel had cut their arrears back to single point, but Loughgiel hit back with a goal and three points to swing the game back in their favour and there was no way back for the opposition.

In a very entertaining game Loughgiel got the opening point in the first minute, but Glenariffe-Glenravel came back with two pointed frees from corner forward Joseph McKay. It was score for score for the next ten minutes as both teams added three apiece, but Loughgiel gained the upper hand when Oisin Connolly and Tadh McKendry points were followed by a goal from play by Conon Johnston.

A goal from Glenariffe-Glenravel centre forward Colla Ward brought his team right back into the game and further points from Ward and full forward Gerard Burns left them trailing by just two points at the break. (2-6 to 1-7)

Glenariffe-Glenravel were soon level when Joe McKay and Canice McIntosh got the first two points of the second half, but Loughgiel responded well with points from Ryan O’Boyle and Caolan McCollum to retake the lead. McKay added another to his tally to leave just a point between the sides, and it remained that way when O’Boyle and Gillan exchanged points.

At his stage it looked like it could go either way, but Loughgiel regained control and after Conan Johnston and Oisin Collolly added points Dan Henry struck for the decisive goal. O’Boyle added another point with eight minutes to go, and though Joe McKay pulled one back for Glenariffe-Glenravel that was as close as they got, and O’Boyle added another point in injury time to give his team a seven point winning margin.


Sean Douthart, Ger McFadden, Tomas McNulty, Eunan Johnston, Eddie Smyth, Ashton McGarry, Liam McGarry, Ryan O’Boyle, Liam Smyth, Oisin Connolly, Tadhg McKendry, Conan Johnston, Daniel O’Mullan, Dan Henry, Caolan McKendry.


Padraig McIlhaton,Cathal O’Neill Ciaran McLoughlin, Harry Fyfe, Oisin McKeown, James Kearney, Cadhen Gramah, Cahir McNaughton, Oisin Gillan, Colla Ward, Ciaran McCann, Joe McKay, Gerard Burns, Canice McIntosh.   

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.