Maghera turn on the style to retain the Corn Eimhear title

Corn Eimhear final

St Patrick’s Maghera 7-20 Cross & Passion Ballycastle 6-4

ST PATRICK’S Maghera turned on the the style to beat CPC at Kelly Park in Portglenone on Friday and retain the Corn Eimhear trophy. The writing was on the wall from the early stages as the Maghera school dominated, despite playing against a strong wind. CPC battled back to close the gap to two at one stage, but after the change of ends St Pat’s pulled away again to win in style

Cáit Conway reigned supreme in the middle of the pitch while all four Maghera goals in the first half came from the full-forward line. Then Aoibh Mulholland entered the game as a half-time substitute and shot two goals and four points.

No less impressive was Cross and Passion substitute Shannon McQuillan who entered the game earlier, scored a point with her first touch and then shot three goals for a forward line working with much less possession.

Maghera opened with a goal from Molly Horan after three minutes and Caoimhe Hampsey kicked home another ten minutes later, both created by Caoimhe Chambers at full-forward.

The Derry side led by 2-6 to 0-2 when McQuillan forced the sliotar home for her first goal in a goal-mouth scramble. A few minutes later she crashed home a second goal with Marie Laverty shooting to the net between those scores. CPC were back in the game at 2-7 to 3-2.

However Chambers replied with two goals before the break and Maghera turned over with a 4-8 to 3-4 lead.

That narrowed on the re-start when Laverty hit the net once more for Ballycastle. Almost immediately Orla McCartney took a pass from Brannagh Brolly to bag fifth Maghera goal and then Aoibh Mulholland took over to push home their advantage.

Right at the end Eobha McAllister and McQuillan scored consolation goals for Ballycastle who were well beaten by a stronger team that now goes through to the All-Ireland series after Christmas.

St Patrick’s: Órlaith Henry, Anna McFaul, Rhianna Doherty, Lucy McKaigue, Alannah Hampsey, Brannagh Brolly 0-1, Ellie Griffin 0-1, Cáit Conway 0-10 (9fs), Mary Teresa McCullagh, Eimear Murray, Katie McCloskey, Orla McCartney 1-1, Molly Horan 1-0, Caoimhe Chambers 2-2 (0-1 f), Caoimhe Hampsey 1-0.

Subs: Aoibh Mulholland 2-4 for C Hampsey (HT), Eimear Scott 0-1 for M Horan (44),

CPC: Erin O’Hara, Micha Cunning, Brianna McCloskey, Orlaith Breen, Sarah Flavin, Aoibheann Gillan, Niamh McCaughan, Eobha McAllister 1-1 (fs), Cara Delaney, Hannah O’Neill, Shanna Deery 0-2, Ceala Dobbin, Marie Laverty 2-0, Mary McArthur, Aoife McCaughan.

Subs: Shannon McQuillan 3-1 for H O’Neill (13), Neala Clarke for O Breen (48), Eva McGarry for C Dobbin (48), Aoibhinn Fennelly for M Cunning (57),

Referee: Paul O’Neill (Creggan)

Antrim club players who were members of the winning St Pat’s team

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.