Naomh Séamas Clg Annual Awards Dinner Dance

Friday night saw a fully sold out Annual Awards Dinner Dance take place at the Devenish for the first time in 3 years due to Covid. In what is the highlight of the Aldergrove clubs year, 330 club members from 6 years of age up gathered to celebrate the achievements of 2021 and 2022. With the club growing at a phenomenal pace, this year was the first year in the clubs history that they fielded a team at every age group in both men’s and ladies football. And the trophies on show just highlighted the success.

We were delighted to have the CEO of Mercury Security and Facilities Management Frank Cullen along with Director, Liam Cullen our major sponsors in attendance.

Special guests of honour were All Ireland winners Antrim’s Cathy Carey and Tyrone’s Mattie Donnelly, who were on hand to present the prizes to the well-deserved winners. Some notable achievements were the ladies U16C league winners 2021, ladies U18C Minor Championship 2021, Mens Senior Reserve Shield winners 2021 to the men’s U15 Antrim Feile Div2 winners 2022 and to top off the night the Double winning ladies team who won the Div 2 and Junior Championship 2022. A number of players were awarded for playing with the Antrim Development Squads with particular mention of Liam Og Cullen who represented Ulster at u15, Seamus McGarry who represented Antrim Senior men and Aoife and Caitlin Taggart who won the Ulster Championship and the Junior All Ireland Championship with Antrim ladies.

The night was a superb success and now they look forward to another successful year in 2023.

Bert Trowlen went along to capture the action for the Saffron Gael

Club chairman Paul McCarthy and committee member John Jones presents a sponsorship cheque for £500 to Bert Trowlen of the Saffron Gael at the club’s award dinner in the Devenish Complex

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.