Maghera on top througout as they book final spot

Danske Bank Leonard Cup semifinal

St Patrick’s Maghera 5-14 St Louis Ballymena 0-5

ST Patrick’s Maghera eased their way through to the Danske Bank Leonard Cup final when they had too much power and pace for St Louis Ballymena in Wednesday’s semi-final in Ahoghill, and despite facing a stiff breeze they had the game all but won at the break as they led by 2-9 to 0-3.

Dara Hasson poached both the first half goals, the first in the 19th minute when Dara O’Kane’s shot was saved and then 10 minutes later when Rian Collins’ effort from distance was blocked down into his path.

St Louis’ best spell was after the break when they held Maghera scoreless for ten minutes and Euan Molloy grabbed a fine point.

Eventually their defence cracked with Pauric Bradley kicking home a goal, quickly followed by a second goal from Pádraig O’Kane while Dara O’Kane grabbed a fifth major for Maghera eight minutes from time.

The second semi-final between CPC and St Killian’s takes place on Tuesday.


St Pat’s : Maghera: D Hasson 2-0, D O’Kane 1-2, P O’Kane 1-1, P Bradley 1-0, R Biggs 0-4 2 frees), R Collins 0-3, S O’Kane 0-3.

St Louis Ballymena: F Bradley 0-3 (frees), C McCollum 0-1, E Molloy 0-1

Maghera: Oisín Mulholland, Conor McLarnon, Odhrán Burke, Niall McNicholl, Daithí McClodkey, Pádraig O’Kane, Daragh O’Neill, Pauric Bradley, Odhrán Doherty, Rian Collins, Dara O’Kane, Ruairí Biggs, Sean O’Kane, Dara Hasson, Fiomn Cartin.

Subs: Michael McMaster for D McCloskey (38), Barry Convery for F Cartin (41), Ruairí Boyle for P Bradley (48), Oisín Hunter for R Boyle (54), Gavin McLaughlin for D O’Kane (55)

St Louis: Domhnall McKay, Rory Blaney, Daire Higgins, Joe McFadden, Robert Crooks, Eddie Smyth capt., Niall McCloskey, Caolán McCollum, Neil Rodgers, Euan Molloy, Eunan Curry, Séamus McMullan, James McGarry, Fiontán Bradley, Cian Higgins

Subs: Aaron Doherty for D Higgins (35), Ryan O’Boyle for S McMullan (35), Jamie McMullan for C Higgins (35), Shane McGilligan for C McCollum (49), Conal McFerran for E Molloy (49)

Referee: Sean McGuigan

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.