UU beat Queens to qualify for McGurk Cup final

QUB 1-17 Ulster University 2-27

A University of Ulster team, with a big Antrim representation on board, scored a convincing win over Belfast neighbours QUB in Monday evening’s McGurk Cup semi-final at the Dub Arena. Leading by 1-13 to 1-9 at the midway point, the Jordanstown side pushed home their advantage in the second half to win by 13 in the end and secure a final place against either Donegal or Antrim, whose scheduled semi-final had to be postponed due to snow on the Owenbeg pitches.

Fermanagh’s Luka McCusker was the star of the show for UU as he ended with a goal and six points in a great all round display.

John Kennedy (10) who had a great game in UU’s win over Queens. Pic by Bert Trowlen

Dara Murphy had given Queens and early lead but McCusker turned the game Jordanstown’s way a minute later when he grabbed the first goal of the game, and when Aodhan O’Brien and Aaron Bradley added points the visitors were four clear.  

Dara Turley and Niall Miligan closed the gap for Queens and the rest of the half was evenly contested. With McCusker, Danan McGeough, Paul Boyle and Waterford’s John Kennedy all showing well for UU they had opened up a six point gap by the 22nd minute, but Queens hit back with a goal and two points from the brilliant Tom McGrattan, but Paul Boyle and John Kennedy came back with a point apiece for UU to help them to a 1-13 to 1-9 win.

A goal and a point from McCusker at the start of the second half put UU firmly in command and though Queens kept in touch with a series of points from Daire Murphy, they were always playing catch-up and the Jordanstown side went on to seal the win with a bit to spare.

Queens’ Oisin O’Hare in action during the McGurk Cup game with UU at the Dub Arena. Pic by Bert Trowlen


Pearse Kelly, Mark McClean, Niall O’Connor, Ruairi McCormick, Declan McCloskey, Aidan O’Brien, Caolan McKernan, Paul Boyle, Ciaran Watson, John Kennedy, Deaghlan Mallon, Ciaran Magill, Dannan McGueogh, Aaron Bradley, Luka McCusker


Aidan Murtagh, Daire Maguire, Niall Mcfarland, Caolan McReynolds, Fiontan Olibher, Conal Bohill, Oisin O’Hare, Jordan Murtagh, Padhraig Nellis, Paddy Friel, Stuart Martin, Daire Murphy, Darragh Turley, Niall Milligan, Tom McGrattan.

Referee – Kevin Parke

Related Images:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.