Morgan’s goal helps Rathmore secure a final spot

Danske Bank MacLarnon Cup semi-final

Rathmore Grammar 1-10 Loreto Milford 0-8

A goal and two points by man of the match Michael Morgan helped Rathmore Grammar School bridge a sixteen year gap as they overcome a slow start to beat Loreto Milford in Friday’s semi-final of the McLarnon Cup on the 4G pitch at Owenbeg. It was Morgan who settled his team down with their first score of the game after Milford had dominated possession in the early stages. The Donegal school were on top throughout the field as Rathmore struggled to get a foothold in the game, but when Morgan found the target things began to happen and they were soon level as Rory McErlean and Fintan O’Boyle sent over points. Rory McErlean pointed a free to put them ahead for the first time, and though Rory McGrenra brought Loreto back on terms soon afterwards, further points from Morgan and McErlean gave Rathmore a two point lead at the interval. (0-8 to 0-6)

Rathmore full forward Michael Morgan holds off the challenge of two Milford defenders before firing the ball past goalkeeper Hagan for the goal of the game in Friday’s McLarnon Cup semi-final at the Owenbeg 4 G pitch.

Milford cut the gap back to a point when an early shot from centre forward Cian McMenamin bounced on the edge of the square and bounced over bar but three minutes later Michael Morgan hit the telling score when he came out to meet a long ball from the half back line, won possession before battling his way past two defenders and finishing to the net with a clever flick off the outside of his right foot. Morgan added a point from play and McErlean pointed a free from out on the right and it was clear that Milfold would need to do something special to if they were to get back into the game.

The Donegal boys did have plenty of possession, but Rathmore defended well and never really looked under any great pressure. The closing minutes deep in injury time were dramatic however as Milford dropped a few longs balls in on the square, but the Belfast side held firm and booked their place in next weekend’s final.

Rathmore : Michael Morgan (1-2), Rory McErlean (0-4), Fintann O’Boyle (0-2), Garrett Cowan (0-1), Cormac Blaney (0-1)

Loreto: JJ Sweeney (0-3), Finn Coll (0-2), Cian McMenamin (0-2)

Rathmore: K Dobrowiski, M Lloyd, D Mooney, C Devlin, T Lloyd, C Logue, S Ferris, O Arthurs, R Grant, C Blaney, R McErlean, D McGurk, F O’Boyle capt., M Morgan, G Cowan.

Subs used: Rudi Smith and Oscar Conlon

Loreto: K Hagan, C Brady, C Gallagher, O Kelly, P McDaid, A Curran, R McGrenra, JJ Sweeney, C McMenamin, E Quinn, F Coll, E Scott, C Curran, O McHugh, C McCormick

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.