Heartbreak for luckless Coláiste Feirste as Downpatrick clinch the Irish News Cup

Danske Bank Irish News Cup final

De La Salle Downpatrick 3-9 Coláiste Feirste 3-7  A.E.T.

Coláiste Feirste suffered heartbreak for the second year in succession when they were piped at the post in the final of the Irish News Cup at Falls Park on Tuesday.  

The Belfast College thought they had snatched victory from the jaws of defeat when they fired home an injury time to hit the front with time almost up. However their opponents De La Salle Downpatrick had time to save the game and a late free by team captain Padraig Sloan sent over the equaliser to bring the game to extra time before sealing the win in the twenty minutes added time.

With a difficult diagonal wind making conditions difficult the scoring was low in an exciting first half, at the end of which the sides were tied on 2-2 apiece. Team captain Sloan had put Downpatrick a goal up but Coláiste Feirste bounced back with two of their own through Christopher Mac Roibéard and Odhrán Mac Philib, only to see the Down school draw level with a Oisin McFall goal.

Despite dominating play during the third quarter the Belfast boys could not make it pay on the scoreboard and Downpatrick were two to the good entering injury time. When they were awarded a penalty James Mac an Fhailí slotted home brilliantly to edge his team in front.

It looked like the celebrations were about to kick off, but those plans were put on hold when Downpatrick sent over the late equaliser to send the game to extra time.

Level again at the break, 3-6 each, De La Salle kept the pressure on during the final ten minutes with Hanna pointing them ahead. Coláiste Feirste came closed on a couple of occasions but it all ended in heartbreak for the luckless Belfast side and Downpatrick did enough to snatch the win.

Coláiste Feirste’s Luke Ó Deá in action during the Irish New Cup final against De LaSalle Downpatrick in Tuesday’s final at Falls Park. Pic by Bert Trowlen

De La Salle scorers: P Sloan (1-4, 0-3 frees), O Hanna (1-1), O McFall (1-0), T McCrissican (0-1), C Cochrane (0-1), C McCargo (0-1), B Shaw (0-1)

Coláiste Feirste : O Mac Philib (1-1), C Mac Roibéard (1-0), J Mac an Fhailí (1-0 pen), T Mac Adaim (0-5, 3 frees)

De La Salle: Jack Polly, Eoin McMahon, Ryan Rooney, Dara Convie, Connall Black, Thomas McCrissican, Jack Hynds, Connor Dowd, Oisin Hanna, Callum Cochrane, Padraig Sloan capt, Leo Noble, Ben Shaw, Callum McCargo, Oisin McFall

Coláiste Feirste: Fionn Ó Brannuibh, Tomás Ó Dulainne, Caomhán Ó Mealláin, Faolan Mac Aoidh, Christopher Mac Roibeaird, Ruairí Ó Scolláin j-capt, Luke Ó Deá, James Mac an Fhailí, Nathan Mac Cionaoith j-capt, Tomás Mac Adaim, Fionntán Mac Colaim, Shae Mac Aoidh, Fionn Ó hAodha, Odhrán Mac Philib, Cormac Mac Gabhann

Subs: Óisin Ó Cianáin for S Mac Gabhann

Referee: Brendan Toland

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.