Naomh Mhuire Achadh Gallain Gala Ball, Celebrating 40 Years, 1982 – 2022.

St Marys Aghagallon celebrated a major landmark for their club at the Carrickdale Hotel Dundalk on Saturday night with a great night’s entertainment laid on for the many patrons in attendance.  With a host of special presentations, raffles and spot prizes and music throughout the evening the guests were indeed treated to a fun filled event.

St Marys were proud to have in attendance a special guest to help celebrate the 40 years of the Club with An Uachtaran CLG, Larry Mc Carthy, who enjoyed a wonderful evening of St Mary’s hospitality and friendship.

With such a packed itinerary for the evening it was hard to keep up with all the events such was the buzz and excitement amongst the guests. After a drinks reception guests were entertained with a special poignant video presentation highlighting the founding of the club and the significant strides the club has made. Amongst the founding fathers remembered and those who gave sterling support 40 years ago were, John Mc  Stravick, Arthur Loughran, Seamus Walsh and Ivan Lavery. The presentation went on to showcase the wonderful community spirit with in the club and how this can be developed.

Following a beautiful meal the light entertainment then was in the offing when the highly entertaining, Adrian Logan MC for the evening came into his own and had the patrons roaring with laughter as he took charge of some great raffles and spot prizes. We welcomed our four senior County players back to the Carrickdale after coming so close to beating Down in Newry. Amongst them were Adam Loughran and Ruarai Mc Cann who put in a tremendous performance in the game.

Current Chair Columb Walsh addressed the guests and gave a rousing speech which inspired everyone as he outlined the success of the club and where it is at present and where the club is heading for the future. The President, Larry Mc Carthy then presented the major awards of the night. Camogie presentations were made to Veronica Branagan and Méabh Lenehan. Annual Awards were presented and important work in the club as recognised as James Kelly and Sinead Walsh received awards. The Minor team, County Champions 2021 and management were awarded with another accolade from ABC Council. Broangh Lennon who puts a tremendous effort into Scor at County, Ulster and All Ireland level was presented with a special award for her dedication and this hot on the heels of a Presidents Award the previous night in Dublin. Maith thu, Bronagh.

Bronagh Lennon, who received the Presidents Award from GAA President Larry McCarthy at Croke Park the previous night, got a second go at it at her own club’s dinner on Saturday at the Carrickdale

The blue riband Senior Football award, the ‘Paddy Barnes’ trophy was richly deserved  by  Ciaran Magennis and  Senior Reserve player Gabhan Baine. The club recipients of the Devenish Antrim All Star Awards were marked for the past two years as five of our club players were awarded with a special mementos; Gareth Magee, Adam Loughran, Ruarai Mc Cann, Pat Branigan and Eunan Walsh.

The President then made an address to a hushed audience and he complimented St Marys on the work the club is doing in particular for the youth of the area. The President also commented on how close our Senior footballers have come in recent years to winning the County Championship and he wished the club every success in achieving our goals. The President was then presented with a special basket of locally made speciality food items and other mementos of Aghagallon. A standing ovation and warm applause for the special guest and Columb Walsh wrapped up the awards and he asked everyone to enjoy the great music and dancing to follow late into the night.

Our well known ‘photo man’, Bert Trowlen was on hand to take our fantastic pictures on a busy night for him and the camera.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.