St Louis make it through to semi-final

Danske Bank Foresters Cup quarter final

St Louis Ballymena 1-18  St Pat’s Maghera 2-10

St Louis Ballymena held off a battling fightback from St Pat’s Maghera in the second half of Tuesday evening’s Foresters Cup quarter final in Ahoghill to secure a place in next week’s semi-final.

Five ahead at the break and six clear after forty minutes the Ballymena boys appeared to be secure, but Maghera showed all their battling qualities to cut the gap back to just two and it appeared to be anybody’s game, but with Padraig Martin leading the line they steadied the steadied the ship and got home with five to spare in the end

A point from Caolan McCollum and two from Fiontan Bradley gave St Louis a good start but Maghera hit back with a goal from a penalty by Conor Melaugh brought his team level. With Martin and Fiontan Bradly in good form St Louis pulled clear again and were five to the good when Melaugh got his second goal to leave just two between the sides. However the Ballymena school finished the half strongly and the skilful Bradley fired the Maghera net just before the break to give his team 1-12 to 2-4 lead at the change of ends.

Two pointed frees from Martin, in reply to one from Melaugh increased the St Louis lead to six, but they were pegged back as St Pat’s took control around the middle of the field and his some great long range points, one in particular from full back Cahal McKaigue, a real eye catcher. St Louis were wobbling but a lovely pointed free from out on the wing by Bradley and two pointed efforts from Man of the Match Padraig Martin was enough to get them home.


Sean Douthart, Ryan McClements, Luke McFerran, Ger McFadden, Jack McKeever, Sean Og Blaney, Sean McDermott, Ryan O’Boyle, Harry Fyfe, Charlie Cunning, Padraig Martin, Callan McCollum Caolan McFerran, Caleb Smith, Finton Bradley


Anthony Magill, Phelim Og Diamond, Cahal McKaigue, Ruairi Beggs, Danny Gallagher, Fiachra Turner, Charlie Freel, Kevin Mullan, Johnny Mullan, Gabhan McIvor, Jack McCloy, Padraig O’Kane, Cilliian McEldowney, Conor Melaugh, Pauric McAreavy.

REFEREE – Brendan Totten

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.