McMullan goal sends Rasharkin on their way

ACFL Division 3

Rasharkin 1-14 (17)  Laochra Loch Lao 0-4 (4)

It took a while for Rasharkin to shake off the early season rust but a goal from Oran McMullan in the 12th minute lit the fuse and from there until the end they never looked back.

By half-time they had opened up a 1-6 to 0-0 lead with Laochra Loch Lao chasing shadows at times as they struggled to contain the men from Dreen.

Eamonn McNeill added a point within 20 seconds and Shane Hasson 0-2, Ryan Lynch, Oran McMullan and Fergus Quigg all hit the target to leave Rasharkin leading by nine as Fionntan McCotter sounded the half time whistle.

HalfTime: Rasharkin  1-6(9)  Laochra Loch Lao 0-0(0)

The visitors needed to do much better in the second half and they did, managing 0-4 in a second half where St. Mary’s continued to call the shots and add to their ever increasing total.

Shane Hasson continued where he had left off in the first half with a converted free in the third minute before Tarlach Barclaigh finally got the visitors off the mark with a point in the 6th minute.

Rasharkin’s response was immediate and incisive as Shane Hasson and Eamonn McNeill 0-2 replied with three more for the Dreen side by the end of the third quarter and it was clear there would be no comeback for the Irish Language side.

Conhuir McGuckian brought the visitors total to 0-2 from a free in the 19th minute but once again the home side replied and Eamon McNeill, Oran McMullan and Shane Hasson all hit the target in the closing stages with Rian McShane tagged on a consolation point for a Lochra Loch Lao side who kept going to the end and will not5 come up against this level of opposition every week.

Rasharkin: 1 – Andrew Hasson 2 – Pearse Kelly 3 – Emmet McFerran 4 – Conor Hasson

5 – Fearghal Kennedy 6 – Cathal Mooney 7 – Fergus Quigg 8 – Ruairi OBoyle 9 – Thomas McMullan 10 – Shane Hasson 11 – Eamonn McNeill 12 – James Higgins 13 – Killian O’Boyle

14 – Oran McMullan 15 – Ryan Lynch

Laochra Loch Lao: 1 Sean O’Heachain 2 Liam MacThrienfhir 3 Connor McCaffrey 4 Eamonn O’Coinn 5 Sean Mac An Bheatha 6 Connla O’Coinn 7 Padraig Fryers, 8 Rian McShane 9 Eanna O’Ceallaigh 10 Tarlach Barclaigh 11 Kevin Devine, 12 Coinhuir McGuckian, 13 Padi O’Tiamaigh 14 PJ O’Prey 15 Oisin MacCrabhagain

Referee: Fionntan Mc Cotter

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.