Three Dunloy men on AIB Team of the Year

Three players from Antrim and Ulster Champions Dunloy Cuchullains have been selected on the AIB Club Hurling team of the Year with Kevin Molloy, Ryan McGarry being chosen in defence and Conal Coby Cunninng named in the forwards.

After winning back the Ulster crown for the first time in nine years Dunloy went on to beat Galway champions St Thomas in the All Ireland semi-final at Croke Park and set up a final meeting with Ballyhale Shamrocks, the most successful team in the history of the competition.

The Ulster champions played really well in the final and pushed the nine times champions hard right up to the final minutes when a late flurry of scores gave the scoreline a somewhat flattering look.

The three men selected on the All Star team have played really well throughout and are fully deserving of their honours. Going into the ste semi-final and final most pundits had predicted that it would be the Dunloy forward division who would shine, but just as they had done in Ulster the men at the back showed just what they can do. Molloy was outstanding in the semi-final win over St Thomas, while the ever improving Ryan McGarry was outstanding at full-back on the day of the final.

Conal ‘Coby’ Cunning has been the club’s top scorer over the past few years and his accuracy from play, and from frees proved in vital on the keys games during the campaign.

All Ireland Champions Ballyhale have eight members on the team with Killian Corcoran, Joey Holden, Richie Reid, Darragh Corcoran, Adrian Mullen, Eoin Cody, TJ Reid, and Colin Fennelly included.

The AIB Club Hurling Team of the Year is: Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); Killian Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Ryan McGarry (Dunloy); Kevin Molloy (Dunloy), Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Darragh Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks);. Conor Sheahan (Ballygunner), Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks),. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner), Conal Cunning (Dunloy) Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Patrick Fitzgerald (Ballygunner).

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.