Ardoyne maintain unbeaten streak against league leaders

ACHL Div 4

Ardoyne 2-16 Davitts 2-08

Report and pics by Brian McKee

Both teams started this game determined to hold on to their unbeaten records, but it was the men from Ardoyne who emerged victorious at the end of a hard fought game. Ardoyne maintained their discipline in a tense game, giving away only one point from frees over the course of the hour’s play, to overcome their rivals from the west of the city by an eight point margin.

Davitts started the game well and moved into the lead from a point by Caoimhin Heaney. Ardoyne hit back with four points before Michael Lismore found the net for Davitts. Oisin McVicker was dominant around the midfield and half forward line and he provided the pass for Dean Goodall to flick the ball to the Davitts net for Ardoyne to start stamping their authority on this game.

Paschal Clarke and Paul Baker held strong in the Ardoyne back line and the whistle for the end of the first half saw Ardoyne enter the break at 1-8 to 1-4 ahead.

Half-time Score: Ardoyne 1-8 Davitts 1-4

The second half commenced with Davitts showing their intent to take points from this game. They pressed Ardoyne for the first ten minutes of the half, but a series of magnificent saves from JP Agnew in the Ardoyne goals was an indication that this game was not going in favour of the Falls Road team.

Michael Lismore scored his second goal of the day to bring Davitts back into the game, but a further goal by McVicker reignited the Ardoyne momentum and they moved six points ahead. Aran Stewart was on top form for Ardoyne and his points from play and frees took their toll on Davitts who continued to push for goals, but they couldn’t find a way through a very solid Ardoyne defence. Ardoyne finished the game strongly to run out worthy winners by 2-16 to 2-8.

Ardoyne: JP Agnew, Pascal Clarke, Paul Baker, Cormac Curran, Sean Searle, Caolan Wallace, Christopher McShane, Paul McGuigan, Dean Goodall(1-0), Dan Moore, Oisin Mac An Bhiocaire(1-3), Pearse Hull(0-1), Matt McKillen(0-1), Aran Stewart(0-11, 10 frees), Kealan McCallan, Diarmuid Martin, Cormac Barnes, Paul O’Halloran, Joe McDowell, Piarais O’Neill, Conor Flannery, Stephen Hill, Eoghain Mac An tSearraig, Eamon Mac Lochlainn, Setanta Marley

Davitts: Gearoid Cosgrove, Jason Park, Tomas Mac Corsain, Antoin McLaughlin, Christopher Gallagher, Stephen McGivern(0-2), Jamie McNally, Peter Og Carleton, Caoimhin Heaney(0-1), Colm McKee(0-1), Deaglan Mooney(0-1), Michael Lismore(2-2), Caoimhin Rainey, Chris Cunningham, Marcas Toner, Jay Maguire(0-1)

Referee: Eamon Mulvenna

Related Images:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.