Sharp Shamrocks maintain top spot

ACHL Division 1

St. Enda’s 0-12 Loughgiel 2-24

St. Enda’s had no answer to a sharp Loughgiel Shamrocks at Hightown on Wednesday night with the North Antrim men in a strong position at half time when they led 0-14 to 0-2. The home side did improve in the second half, adding a further 10 points but goals from Christy McGarry and Ruairi McCormick ensured there would be no way back for the home side.

Loughgiel took the game to St. Enda’s right from throw in and the points came thick and fast as Declan McCloskey, Daniel McCloskey, Christy McGarry and two from Shan McGrath got them on their way with Cormac Jennings replying for the Hightown side.

Two more from Daniel McCloskey and points from Ryan McKee and Paul Boyle stretched Loughgiel’s lead before Jennings momentarily interrupted the onslaught but the visitors finished the half strongly as McGrath hit three on the bounce with Daniel McCloskey adding two to leave their side in a commanding 10 point lead at the short whistle.

The Glengormley men did much better in the second half and with the elements in their favour they began to find the target but an early goal from McGarry to add to a Rian Gillen point made the chances of a comeback extremely slim.

Ruairi Donaghy led the St. Enda’s charge and would score 0-3 in the second half while Joe Maskey 0-3, Jennings, Eddie O’Connor, Ryan Bogue and youngster Roger Eager were all on target for the home side during a much improved second half.

The visitors were in no mood to let it slip however with Shan McGrath hitting three on the bounce and adding another to bring his second half contribution to 0-4 and Ruairi McCormick’s goal all but finished the game as a contest.

This win moves Loughgiel to the top of the division with 7 wins from 7 starts and they are going nicely at present and despite last night’s defeat, St. Enda’s occupy a fairly comfortable mid-table position and will be happy with aspects of their second half performance.

St. Enda’s: 1 Martin Curran, 2 Conor McAllister, 3 Manus Mullan, 4 Malachi McGibbon, 5 Dara Maguire, 6 Rian Gillen, 7 Eoin Conlon, 8 Brendan Cormican, 9 Ryan Bogue, 10 Cormac Jennings, 11 Ronan Eager, 12 Diarmuid Maguire, 14 Conor Bradley, 15 Ruairi Donaghy, 22 Niall McGivern

Loughgiel: 1 Chrissy O’Connell, 2 Tiernan Coyle, 3 Damon McMullan, 4 Rory McCloskey, 5 Enda McGarry, 6 Declan McCloskey, 7 Caolan Blair, 8 Ruairi McCormick, 9 Ryan McKee, 10 Rian McMullan, 11 Paul Boyle, 12 Christy McGarry, 13 Jack McCloskey, 14 Shan McGrath, 15 Daniel McCloskey

Referee: Lorenzo McMullan

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.